Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
February 5, 2018

Up to 33 get nomination forms from KPEC for Senate election


February 5, 2018

PESHAWAR: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Ali Afzal Khan Jadoon, a candidate for the upcoming Senate elections from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, submitted nomination papers with the Returning Officer here Sunday.

Also, 33 aspirants from different political parties obtained nomination forms from the provincial office of the Election Commission of Pakistan on Sunday.

Prominent among those who collected nomination forms are Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)'s Noor Alam Khan and Meher Taj Roghani, who is presently deputy speaker KP Assembly, Robina Khalid and Shazia Tehmas from the PPP and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Advocate General Abdul Latif Yousafzai.

The other candidates who obtained nomination forms are Engineer Tariq Khattak, Mansoor Abbas, Fayeza Bibi, PTI's Rabia Basri and Dildar Khan from PML-N. As per notification of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the provincial election commissioner Pir Maqbool Ahmad was nominated as the Returning Officer for the Senate elections in KP.

The ECP had announced Senate elections for seven general seats, two technocrat and Ulema and two women seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. The polling would be held on March 3. February 8 is the last date for filing nomination papers. The last date for publication of the names of nominated candidates is February 9. As per the ECP election schedule, the last date for scrutiny of nomination papers is February 12. It said that last date for filing of appeals against acceptance/rejection of nominations is February 15, the last date for disposal of appeals by the tribunal is February 17 and the last date for publication of revised list of candidates is February 18. As per the notification, the last date for withdrawal of candidature is February 19. Election will be held in the premises of the provincial assemblies in the four provinces from 9am to 4pm on March 3.

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus