Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
May 26, 2017

PCB members recommend Sethi as next chairman

Top Story

May 26, 2017

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Thursday presented Rs 10.6 billion deficit budget before general council members of Pakistan cricket for approval while the members recommended through a resolution, adopted unanimously to elect Najam Sethi as the new PCB chairman. 

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of Pakistan cricket was held at a local hotel on Thursday and was attended by all the cricket units of the country. The AGM expressed its desire to see Najam Sethi take over the office once Shaharyar Khan’s tenure ends in August. 

AGM has also unanimously adopted a resolution for recommending Pride of Performance Award for the services rendered by Najam Sethi for successful organisation of PSL. The AGM besides the budget also approved the associate membership of Chaghi and Pakpattan which was forwarded for further approval of the Board of Governors. 

In his speech, PCB Chairman Shaharyar Khan gave the detailed account of the board’s previous year achievements and future plans. He was full of praise of the two out gone cricketers, Misbahul Haq and Younis Khan. Shaharyar said a proper ceremony for giving awards to Misbah Haq, Younis Khan and Shahid Afridi will be organised shortly. 

Shaharyar also credited Najam Sethi for the successful organiation of PSL. Chairman PCB also thanked all members for their support in organising the Abdul Hafez Kardar School Cricket Championship and Fazal Mahmood Club Cricket Championship across the country. “New academies were established at Multan and Karachi and by the end of the year, similar academies will be functional at four more centres including Hyderabad, Peshawar and Rawalpindi while there are also plans for the same at Rahim Yar Khan and Bahawalpur,” he added. 

Shaharyar said that they have prepared their case to take legal action against India for not fulfilling the agreement. “The ICC dispute Resolution Committee will be approached to address the matter,” he added. 

Speaking o the occasion, PSL chairman Najam Seth said that they have clarified Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCC) to play series or to pay compensation money. Sethi also announced to approach tribunal if India refuse to organise series. He said that contrary to everybody’s thoughts, the PSL was a success last year and this year its final came to Pakistan despite several people’s thought that it can’t be held in Lahore. 

“Now, we plan to hold four matches of the PSL at Lahore and the same number at Karachi. With dedication and hard work it would be done with the help of several other departments. We feel it’s a home tournament and should be played at home,” he added. 

He further said that they had six bidders for five franchises at the time of its launch and now as many as 30 national and international parties have shown their interest to buy sixth franchise. All members were given an opportunity to dilate upon their views, suggestions and proposals and air their grievances.  At the end, PCB Annual Domestic Awards were given to the following for their outstanding performance during the domestic season 2016-17. 

Best Player of the Year (Blind): Badar Munir with cash prize. Best Player of the Year (Deaf and Dumb): Zaka Ahmed Qureshi. Best Player of the Year (Disabled): Maj (R) Hasnain Alam. Best Women Player of the Year: Asmavia Iqbal. Outstanding Player of Domestic Season 2016-2017: Muhammad Abbas. Best Umpire of the Year: Shozab Raza. Best Match Referee of the Year: M Anees. Best scorer of the Year: Najamus Saeed. Best Curator of the Year: Niamat Ali. Best Coach of Domestic Cricket Season 2016-17: Azam Khan. 


Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus