Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
March 14, 2019

Khawaja, bowlers humble India in series decider


March 14, 2019

NEW DELHI: A fluent century by Usman Khawaja and incisive bowling helped Australia ease to a 35-run series clinching win in the fifth One-day International on Wednesday.

Adam Zampa took three wickets to help dismiss India for 237 on the last ball of their innings after Khawaja’s 100 guided the tourists to 272 for nine at Delhi’s Feroz Shah Kotla ground.

Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson and Marcus Stoinis claimed two wickets each to set up Australia’s first win in a five-match ODI series after being 0-2 down.

But the left-handed Khawaja stood out for the tourists with his 100 off 106 deliveries that guided Australia to what turned out to be a match-winning score.

The left-right batting pair of Khawaja and Handscomb stayed firm during a 99-run stand to lay the foundation of their team’s total after skipper Aaron Finch was out on 27.

India were reduced to 132 for six in their reply but Kedar Jadhav, who made 44, and Kumar threatened to pull off the chase during their 91-run stand for the seventh wicket.

Cummins got Kumar caught and bowled for 46 and Richardson sent back Jadhav to silence the home crowd.

Earlier Cummins drew first blood after getting Shikhar Dhawan caught behind for 12.

But it was Stoinis who got Kohli’s prized scalp after he edged a cross-seam delivery to wicketkeeper Alex Carey.

Australia won toss


U Khawaja c Kohli b Kumar 100

*A Finch b Jadeja 27

P Handscomb c Pant b Shami 52

G Maxwell c Kohli b Jadeja 1

M Stoinis b Kumar 20

A Turner c Jadeja b Yadav 20

†A Carey c Pant b Shami 3

J Richardson run out 29

P Cummins c and b Kumar 15

N Lyon not out 1

Extras (b1, w3) 4

Total (9 wickets, 50 overs) 272

Fall: 1-76, 2-175, 3-178, 4-182, 5-210, 6-225, 7-229, 8-263, 9-272

Did not bat: A Zampa

Bowling: Kumar 10-0-48-3, Shami 9-0-57-2, Bumrah 10-0-39-0, Yadav 10-0-74-1, Jadeja 10-0-45-2, Jadhav 1-0-8-0


R Sharma st Carey b Zampa 56

S Dhawan c Carey b Cummins 12

*V Kohli c Carey b Stoinis 20

†R Pant c Turner b Lyon 16

V Shankar c Khawaja b Zampa 16

K Jadhav c Maxwell b Richardson 44

R Jadeja st Carey b Zampa 0

B Kumar c Finch b Cummins 46

M Shamic and b Richardson 3

K Yadav b Stoinis 8

J Bumrah not out 1

Extras (lb7, w8) 15

Total (all out, 50 overs) 237

Fall: 1-15, 2-68, 3-91, 4-120, 5-132, 6-132, 7-223, 8-223, 9-230, 10-237

Bowling: Cummins 10-1-38-2, Richardson 10-0-47-2, Stoinis 4-0-31-2, Lyon 10-1-34-1, Zampa 10-1-46-3, Maxwell 6-0-34-0

Result: Australia won by 35 runs

Man of the Match: Usman Khawaja (Australia)

Series: Australia won the 5-match series 3-2

Umpires: CK Nandan (India), Joel Wilson (West Indies). TV Umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka). Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus