Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
December 7, 2019

Rohail Nazir retained as captain for U19 World Cup 2020


December 7, 2019

KARACHI: The National Junior Selection Committee has named a 15-player Pakistan squad for the Under-19 World Cup 2020, which will be held in South Africa from January 17 to February 9.

In-form wicket-keeper-batsman Rohail Nazir has been retained as captain. Prolific opener Haider Ali has been appointed as vice-captain.

Pakistan, the 2004 and 2006 champions and three-time runners-up, are placed in Group C of the 16-team event and will play Scotland in their opening match on January 19 in Potchefstroom.

Pakistan’s second match will be against Zimbabwe, at the Witrand Oval in Bloemfontein on January 22. They will play their final group match on January 24 at the JP Marks Oval against Bangladesh.

The top two teams from each of the four groups will advance to the Super League. The remaining teams will feature in the Plate Championship. The Super League stage will commence from January 28 and the top four sides will qualify for the semi-finals, with the winners competing for the title on February 9 in Benoni.

“I know some of the players will be disappointed at not being picked, but it was a tough task as we had a pool of some very exciting and exceptionally talented players to choose from,” said Saleem Jaffar, who is chairman of the junior selection committee. “I would encourage all the players who have missed out on selection to remain positive and motivated as I am confident there will be opportunities for them down the road.

Squad: Openers: Abdul Wahid Bangalzai (Quetta), Haider Ali (Rawalpindi), Mohammad Shehzad (Multan).

Middle-order batsmen: Mohammad Haris (Peshawar), Mohammad Huraira (Sialkot) and Mohammad Irfan Khan (Lahore).

Wicketkeeper: Rohail Nazir (captain).

All-rounders: Abbas Afridi (Peshawar), Fahad Munir (Lahore) and Qasim Akram (Faisalabad).

Spinners: Amir Ali (Larkana) and Arish Ali Khan (Karachi).

Fast bowlers: Amir Khan (Peshawar), Naseem Shah (Lahore), Tahir Hussain (Multan).

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus