Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
October 11, 2018

Tahir takes SA to victory


October 11, 2018

EAST LONDON, South Africa: Leg-spinner Imran Tahir bowled South Africa to a 34-run win in the first Twenty20 international against Zimbabwe at Buffalo Park on Tuesday.

Tahir took five for 23 as South Africa, defending a modest total of 160 for six, bowled out the tourists for 126.

The damage was done in the first four overs as Tahir, sharing the new ball, took the first three wickets.

He came back later to take two wickets off successive balls to reduce Zimbabwe to 65 for six.

Peter Moor hit four successive sixes off left-arm spinner Tabraiz Shamsi as he and Brandon Mavuta briefly raised Zimbabwean hopes with an eighth wicket stand of 53 off 19 balls. Moor made 44 off 21 balls and Mavuta hit 28 off 14 balls.

New cap Rassie van der Dussen steadied South Africa´s innings, scoring 56 after coming in with his team struggling on 11 for two in the second over.

Van der Dussen and David Miller (39) put on 87 off 66 balls for the fourth wicket but South Africa were unable to dominate against a disciplined Zimbabwe bowling attack on a slow pitch.

Kyle Jarvis took three for 37 and Chris Mpofu took two for 24. Both claimed early wickets and bowled well in the death overs, with South Africa able to score only 36 runs while losing three wickets in the last four overs.

Leg-spinner Mavuta, 21, a former Zimbabwe under-19 captain, showed outstanding control, taking one for 19 in four overs. He dismissed South African captain Faf du Plessis for a hard-hit 34 off 20 balls.

Score Board



De Kock c Chibhabha b Mpofu 5

Cloete c Masakadza b Jarvis 2

Du Plessis c Chisoro b Mavuta 34

Van der Dussen c Masakadza b Mpofu 56

Miller c Williams b Jarvis 39

Jonker c Masakadza b Jarvis 8

Phehlukwayo not out 4

Dala not out 0

Extras (LB-4, W-8) 12

Total (6 wkts, 20 overs) 160

Fall of wickets: 1-3, 2-11, 3-52, 4-139, 5-149, 6-156.

BOWLING: Jarvis 4-0-37-3, Mpofu 4-0-24-2 (1w), Chisoro 3-0-37-0 (3w), Mavuta 4-0-19-1, Williams 4-0-28-0, Chibhabha 1-0-11-0.


Chibhabha b Tahir 3

Masakadza lbw b Tahir 1

Taylor c De Kock b Dala 19

Musakanda c De Kock b Tahir 0

Williams b Tahir 21

Moor c Jonker b Phehlukwayo 44

Chigumbura lbw b Tahir 0

Chisoro c and b Phehlukwayo 2

Mavuta c Ngidi b Dala 28

Jarvis b Ngidi 0

Mpofu not out 0

Extras (LB-3, W-5) 8

Total (all out, 17.2 overs) 126

Fall of wickets: 1-6, 2-11, 3-11, 4-40, 5-65, 6-65, 7-70, 8-123, 9-125, 10-126.

BOWLING: Ngidi 3-0-7-1 (1w), Imran Tahir 4-0-23-5 (1w), Dala 3-0-25-2, Phehlukwayo 3.2-0-25-2, Shamsi 4-0-43-0 (2w).

Match officials: Umpires: Shaun George, Adrian Holdstock (both RSA); TV umpire: Bongani Jele (RSA); Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL).

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus