Sun, Nov 29, 2015, Safar 16, 1437 A.H | Last updated 1 hour ago
Hot Topics
You are here: Home > Today's Paper > Karachi
- Saturday, January 12, 2013 - From Print Edition




Shias observed a countrywide protest on Friday to condemn the series of bomb explosions in Quetta on Alamdar Road on the appeal of Majlis-e-Wahdatul Muslimeen.


The protest rallies and demonstrations were held in Karachi, Islamabad, Lahore, Quetta and other small and big cities of the country.


In Karachi, the supporters of MWM gathered at the Mehfil-e-Shah-e-Khorassan and marched towards Imambargah Ali Raza (AS) via Numaish and MA Jinnah Road. Carrying banners and placards, they were raising slogans against the United States, Zionist regime of Israel and their local agents in the country for unleashing terrorism all over Pakistan.


“We have always condemned terrorism in all its forms and we also exposed the terrorists but the government turned a deaf ear to our hue and cry and now you see that the personnel of security agencies were also falling victim to terrorist activities,” said Maulana Sadiq Raza Taqvi, MWM Secretary General (Karachi).


Speaking to the protestors, he said that a local outfit that used to declare Muslims as non-Muslims because of their sectarian differences was involved in the massacre of innocent Muslims, including Shiites, and that group publicly claims responsibility for the massacre of innocent people but unfortunately the government and security agencies did not take any action against these terrorists.


Speaking on the occasion, Agha Mubashir Hassan said that the outlawed terrorist groups were ruling Pakistan and they had always challenged the writ of the government.


“MWM condemns massacre of Sunnis and Shias on Alamdar Road in Quetta and we express our profound condolence and sympathy with the bereaved families,” he said.


In Karachi, the demonstrations were also staged outside Khoja Pirai Masjid in Kharadar, Gulistan-e-Jauhar, Jafar-e-Tayyar and Masjid Noor-e-Iman in Nazimabad.


The protesters were addressed by Maulana Mohammad Hussain Karimi, Maulana Ali Anwar Jafri, Allama Salman Hussaini, Mubashir Hassan, Asghar Abbas Zaidi, Sajjad Akbar, Maulana Rehmat Ali Solangi and Maulana Fateh Ali.