Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
September 23, 2019

De Kock, Beuran star as SA draw T20 series


September 23, 2019

BANGALORE: An unbeaten half-century by skipper Quinton de Kock and paceman Beuran Hendricks’ strong performance with the ball helped South Africa thrash India by nine wickets to draw their Twenty20 series 1-1 on Sunday.

Beuran returned figures of 2-14 to restrict India to 134 for nine after skipper Virat Kohli’s surprising decision to bat first in the third and final match at Bangalore’s M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

De Kock then anchored the chase with his 79 — his second successive half-century — off 52 balls on a pitch where teams usually opt to bat second. The left-handed De Kock, who was recently named captain in the shortest format and made 52 in a losing cause on Wednesday after the opening match was washed out, smashed six fours and five sixes.

He put on 76 runs with opening partner Reeza Hendricks, who made 28, and then an unbeaten partnership of 64 with Temba Bavuma, 27 not out, to steer the team home. But it was Beuran’s bowling effort that set the tone for the Proteas’ victory, with the left-arm quick the only change in the XI.

The hosts lost three of their top batsmen early, including Kohli for nine. Rohit Sharma was the first to go for nine, caught at slip off Beuran while fellow opener Shikhar Dhawan returned to the dug-out for 36.

Fast bowler Kagiso Rabada took Kohli’s scalp after the star batsman was holed out to the deep square-leg boundary, with Andile Phehlukwayo completing a sharp running catch. Rabada took three wickets, including two in the final over, but gave away 39 runs from his four overs.

Bjorn Fortuin struck twice with his left-arm spin in the 13th over to dismiss Rishabh Pant for 19 and Shreyas Iyer for five as India slipped to 98 for six. The two teams now head into the three-match Test series starting October 2 in Visakhapatnam.

India won toss


S Dhawan c Bavuma b Shamsi 36

R Sharma c R Hendricks b B Hendricks 9

*V Kohli c Phehlukwayo b Rabada 9

†R Pant c Phehlukwayo b Fortuin 19

S Iyer st de Kock b Fortuin 5

H Pandya c Miller b Rabada 14

K Pandya c de Kock b B Hendricks 4

R Jadeja c & b Rabada 19

W Sundar run out 4

D Chahar not out 0

N Saini not out 0

Extras (b1, lb2, w12) 15

Total (9 wickets, 20 overs) 134

Fall: 1-22, 2-63, 3-68, 4-90, 5-91, 6-98, 7-127, 8-133, 9-133

Bowling: Fortuin 3-0-19-2, Rabada 4-0-39-0, B Hendricks 4-0-14-2, Phehlukwayo 4-0-28-0, Shamsi 4-0-23-1, Pretorius 1-0-8-0

South Africa

R Hendricks c Kohli b H Pandya 28

*†Q de Kock not out 79

T Bavuma not out 27

Extras (lb2, w4) 6

Total (1 wicket, 16.5 overs) 140

Did not bat: R van der Dussen, D Miller, D Pretorius, A Phehlukwayo, B Fortuin, K Rabada, B Hendricks, T Shamsi

Fall: 1-76

Bowling: Sundar 4-0-27-0, Chahar 3-0-15-0, Saini 2-0-25-0, K Pandya 3.5-0-40-0, H Pandya 2-0-23-1, Jadeja 2-0-8-0

Result: South Africa won by 9 wickets

Man of the Match: Beuran Hendricks (South Africa)

Umpires: Chettithody Shamshuddin and Anil Chaudhary (India). TV umpire: Nitin Menon (India). Match referee: Richie Richardson (West Indies)

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus