Thursday June 20, 2024

ECP issues forms 47: PMLN tops by-polls by taking 2 NA, 9 PA, 1 BA seats

ECP issued forms 47, showing PMLN having pocketed two out of five NA seats, nine of 12 Punjab Assembly seats, and one out of the two Balochistan Assembly seats as well in the April 21 by-polls

By Mumtaz Alvi
April 23, 2024
The facade of the renovated ECP office in Islamabad. — ECP website/File
The facade of the renovated ECP office in Islamabad. — ECP website/File

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) Monday issued the forms 47, showing the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PMLN) having pocketed two out of five National Assembly seats, nine of 12 Punjab Assembly seats, and one out of the two Balochistan Assembly seats as well in the April 21 by-polls.

Its other ally in the ruling coalition, Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), and opposition’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) backed Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) and an independent candidate won an NA constituency seat each. Similarly, PPP, PML-Q and Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) got one seat each in Punjab Assembly.

An independent candidate Mubarak Zeb, brother of slain independent candidate Rehan Zeb, who was killed before the February 8 general elections, won from the NA-8, Bajaur and PK-22, Bajaur constituencies. He secured 74008 votes whereas his closest rival of SIC Gul Zafar Khan could get 47282 votes. However, the turn-out in this constituency of NA was just 28.04 per cent.

Moreover, re-election was held in PB-50, Killa Abdullah, from where Zamarak Khan of Awami National Party won with 72,032 votes, while Mir Wais Khan Achakzai of Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party came second with 57,132 votes. The turn-out in this constituency was a whopping 79.65 per cent.

The turn-out was on the high and low side from one constituency to the other, being a set pattern, usually witnessed during by-elections.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Chief Minister Ali Amin Gandapur’s brother Faisal Amin, who was fielded by SIC, returned from NA-44 Dera Ismail Khan, which was vacated by the former to become the provincial chief executive afterwards. Faisal got 66860 votes while his closest rival Rasheed Khan Kundi of PPP could get 21970 votes, making the contest one-sided.

Likewise, from NA-119, Lahore, Ali Pervez of the PMLN won by securing 51086 votes, whereas runner-up Shahzad Farooq of SIC received 34197 votes. This seat was vacated by Punjab Chief Minister Maryam Nawaz.

From NA-132, Kasur, which was vacated by Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, Rasheed Ahmed Khan of PMLN got maximum 146849 votes while Sardar Hussain Dogar of SIC got 34197 votes. In Sindh’s Qamber Shahdadkot, PPP’s Khursheed Junejo won the NA-196 constituency, vacated by party Chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari, by getting 91,581 votes. His rival Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan’s Muhammad Ali could get just 2763 votes.

On the 12 seats of Punjab Assembly, from Chakwal-cum-Talagang’s PP-22, PMLN’s Falak Sher Awan defeated SIC’s Nisar Ahmad: They secured 58845 and 49979 votes respectively. Similarly, from Gujrat’s PP-32, PTI and SIC’s Chaudhry Pervez Elahi was defeated by his nephew, PML-Q’s Musa Elahi by 71357 votes while the ex-chief minister managed to get only 37106 votes.

PMLN’s Adnan Afzal Chattha won the PP-36 Wazirabad seat defeating PTI’s Faiz Chattha. They secured 74769 and 58682 votes respectively. Similarly, PP-54 Narowal seat was won by Federal Minister Ahsan Iqbal’s son Ahmed Iqbal by defeating SIC’s Awais Qasim: The winner clinched 59234 votes while the opponent could get 45762 votes.

From Bhakkar’s PP-93, PML-N’s Saeed Akbar Khan defeated an independent candidate Afzal Dhandla in a close contest: They secured 62058 and 58845 votes respectively. From PP-139 Sheikhupura, PMLN’s Rana Afzaal Hussain won by bagging 45585 votes, whereas SIC’s Mian ljaz Hussain got only 29833 votes.

Likewise, from PP-147 Lahore, PML-N’s Muhammad Riaz returned by getting 31841 votes, as he defeated an independent candidate Muhammad Khan Madani, who got 16548 votes in an electoral race, recording turn-out of 13.97 percent. According to form 47, SIC’s candidate Shahrukh Jamal Butt pulled out of the race after the passage of deadline for withdrawal of nomination papers.

From PP-149, Lahore, Muhammad Shoaib Siddiqui of the IPP secured victory by securing 47722 votes while his rival, fielded by SIC Zeeshan Rasheed could get 26209 votes.

PMLN’s Chaudhry Muhammad Nawaz won from Lahore’s PP-158 by defeating SIC’s Chaudhry Moonis Elahi: They secured 40165 and 28018 votes respectively.

From PP-164, Lahore PMLN’s Rashid Minhas defeated SIC’s Muhammad Yousuf. In Rahim Yar Khan’s PP-266, PPP’s Mumtaz Ali downed PMLN’s Muhammad Safdar Khan Leghari: They secured 47181 and 34552 votes respectively.

From PP-290, Dera Ghazi Khan, PMLN’s Ali Ahmad Khan Leghari won against independent candidate Sardar Muhammad Mohiuddin: they secured 62484 and 23670 votes respectively.

Mubarak Zeb Khan won from PK-22, Bajaur with 23,386 votes, followed by Abid Khan of Jamaat-e-Islami with 10,477 votes and Gul Dad Khan of SIC. The voters turn-out in the constituency was on the lower side; recorded at 28.24 per cent.

However, Daud Shah of SIC won PK-91, Kohat with 23,496 votes, while independent candidate Imtiaz Shahid got 16,518 votes. But the turn-out was abysmally low i.e. 24.72 per cent.

Similarly, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PMLN)’s Muhammad Zareen Khan Magsi won the provincial assembly seat PB-22 from Lasbela, receiving 49,777 votes, whereas independent Shah Nawaz Hasan secured 3869 votes: It was a one-sided affair while the turn-out was recorded at 40.95 per cent.

Balochistan National Party-Mengal candidate Mir Jahanzeb Mengal won the provincial assembly seat from PB-20 constituency of Khuzdar, pocketing 28,175 votes, while independent candidate Mir Shafiqur Rehman Mengal got 20,344 votes.