Monday May 27, 2024

Aseefa elected MNA unopposed from Nawabshah

PPP Co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari had vacated the seat after being elected as the president of Pakistan

By our correspondents
March 30, 2024
President Asif Ali Zardaris youngest daughter Aseefa Bhutto-Zardari. — Instagram/aseefabz/File
President Asif Ali Zardari's youngest daughter Aseefa Bhutto-Zardari. — Instagram/aseefabz/File

SUKKUR/ISLAMABAD: Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) candidate Aseefa Bhutto Zardari was elected as the Member National Assembly (MNA) unopposed from NA-207 Nawabshah constituency.

Additional Deputy Commissioner-II, returning officer for the constituency, said on Friday that 11 candidates had filed nomination papers against Aseefa. Papers of seven candidates were rejected while three withdrew their papers in favour of the PPP candidate, added the RO.

PPP Co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari had vacated the seat after being elected as the president of Pakistan, and Aseefa was nominated as a candidate for the seat by the party.

Returning Officer Sher Ali Jamali said nomination papers of seven independent candidates were rejected, PTI’s independent candidate Sardar Sher Muhammad did not appeal against rejection of his nomination papers. He had secured the second position in general election.

Meanwhile, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari expressed his joy over the issuance of notification of unopposed election of her younger sister Aseefa Bhutto Zardari from the constituency of NA-207 Shaheed Benazirabad, on a seat vacated by President Asif Ali Zardari after being elected as a President of Pakistan, with a sign of ‘Victory’ on a social media handler ‘X’.

In a post on social media platform ‘X’ from his official account, Bilawal Bhutto Zardari posted a victory sign with tagging the notification of RO of Shaheed Benazirabad of unopposed victory of Aseefa Bhutto Zardari and also with the picture of his younger sister.

While Aseefa Bhutto Zardari from her accounts on “x” stated that she was grateful and honoured to have been elected unopposed as an MNA. “I pledge to serve all my constituents to the best of my abilities, with dedication and irrespective of political affiliation,” she posted on “X’.

She stated that she would like to thank the people of her constituency, PPP workers, Jiyalas, media organisations and press for their presence and support from filing her nomination papers in NA-207 till final publication order.

While the PPP was jubilant over the unopposed election of Aseefa Bhutto Zardari and welcome her in the parliamentary politics with electing as unopposed for the National Assembly.

Secretary General PPP Parliamentarians Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari and President PPP Sindh Nisar Khuhro congratulated Aseefa Bhutto Zardari and said that the presence of Aseefa Bhutto Zardari in the National Assembly will feel the presence of martyr Benazir Bhutto.