Tue, Dec 01, 2015, Safar 18, 1437 A.H | Last updated 4 hours ago
Hot Topics
You are here: Home > News > National

By-polls on nine NA, PA seats underway

- December 04, 2012 - Updated 1030 PKT - From Web Edition

ISLAMABAD: Polling on nine seats of the national and provincial assemblies is underway, Geo News reported Tuesday.


By-polls are taking place in NA-107 constituency of Gujrat, Jehlums's PP-25, Sahiwal's NA-162, Gujranwala's PP-92, Sialkot's PP-122 and PP-129, Narowal's PP-129 and PP-226 constituency of Sahiwal.


By-elections are also in progress in PS-21 constituency of Sindh.


In a PP-92 Gunjranwala 2 polling station in Government Commerce College, polling and intermediate exams was going on parallel.


The seat for Sahiwal's NA-162 was vacated after Pakistan peoples Party’s (PPP) MNA Zahid Iqbal was disqualified for having dual nationality. Though eleven candidates are contesting for this seat, a tough competition is expected among PPP’s Ali Fareed Kathia, PML-N’s Chaudhry Zahid Iqbal and PTI’s Rai Hassan Nawaz.


The NA-107 Gujrat 4 seat was vacated after PML-N’s Malik Jamil Awan was removed for having dual nationality. Here, fourteen contestants are participating while a tough competition is expected between PML-N’s Malik Mohammad Hanif Awan and Chaudhry Rehman Naseer Marala who is the joint candidate from PPP and Muslim League-Q.


Ten candidates are contesting from PP-226 constituency of Sahiwal that was vacated after Muslim League-Q’s MPA Malik Iqbal Ahmed was disqualified. However, real competition will be between Muslim League-Q’s Begum Naseem and PML-N’s Chaudhry Haneef.


Fifteen candidates are contesting on PP-92 Gujranwala that was vacated when PML-N’s Ashraf Chauhan was disqualified over dual nationality but the competition is expected between PML-N’s Nawaz Chauhan and PPP’s Lala Asadullah.


PP-122 was emptied after the disqualification of PML-N’s Chaudhry Ikhlaq. PML-N’s Chaudhry Akram is competing with PPP’s Raja Amir.


PP-129 from Sialkot 9 became available after PML-N’s Chaudhry Jamil Ashraf’s disqualification on which PML-N’s Mohsin Ashraf and Muslim League-Q’s Ansar Baryal are contesting.


PP-133 Narowal 3 was earlier held by Dr Tahir Ali who was also suspended over dual nationality. PML-N’s Dr Naimat Ali Javed and Muslim League-Q’s Umer Sharif are contesting for this seat.


Punjab Assembly’s PP-26 Jehlum was vacated after PML-N’s Nadeem Khadim was disqualified for which six candidates are contesting now. However, tough competition is likely between Chaudhry Mohammad Arif (joint candidate for Muslim League-Q and PPP) and independent candidate Sufi Mohammad Aziz.

At a polling station of PP-26 Jehlum 3, voters have boycotted the polling.


PS-21 Nowshehro Feroz was vacated after the disqualification of Dr Ahmed Ali Shah on which PPP’s Sarfaraz Hussain Shah and National Peoples Party’s Syed Afzaal Hussain are contesting.

Be the first to comment
 Post Your Comments  (0)
If you are facing problem in submitting your comments, please click here to report your problem.