Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
October 30, 2015

No ‘suitable’ candidates in Aziz Bhatti Town


October 30, 2015

The two major political parties of the country, PTI and PPP have failed to find suitable candidates for half of the slots of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen for the 12 Union Councils (UCs) that fall in the jurisdiction of the Aziz Bhatti Town area while the PML-N, the ruling party was in a fix to give tickets as they have more than one applicant for each seats there.
Aziz Bhatti Town is adjacent to the Lahore Cantonment Board areas where the PML-N candidates won in the last election held for the Board so playing their indirect influence on the localities falls there.
According to a spokesperson of the District Coordination Officer (DCO), 12 UCs from UC-140 to UC-152 fall in the jurisdiction of Aziz Bhatti Town.
Major rift being faced by the PML-N candidates in the area is the distribution of tickets by the party high-ups by ignoring some die-hard party workers, who in anger are either contesting election as independent candidates or supporting PTI or PPP candidates. However, this will not going to major dent to the PML-N election preparations as the PTI and PPP already not fielded their candidates to half of the union councils. This proves that both parties did not prepare for the election properly. Hence, giving open field to the PML-N or independent candidates.
The Union Councils 140 to 152 fall in the jurisdiction of Aziz Bhatti Town with urban areas of middle income group, and salaried class people live there. The areas are Fateh Garh, Rasheed Pura, Nabi Pura, Salamt Pura, Wahrra Sattar, Harbanspura, Panj Pir, Razzaq Colony, Tajpura, Al-Faisal Town, Rangers Headquarters, Guldasht Town, and Nawan Pind Harbanspura.
The locals of the areas likewise any semi-developed areas of any part of the country are facing the same problems of water and sanitation, poor public sector education facilities, health and other issues. They are asking the old demands of construction of street lights, roads, sewerage, garbage containers, renovation of

public parks etc to get their vote. So in this situation, the PML-N candidates are ideal for them who are not only promising to fulfill their demands for provision of basic civic amenities after being elected but in some areas already completed some work.
The PML-N candidates for UC 140 to 152 Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen are Ch Ali Imran and Mian Riaz Ahmed for UC-140, Ch Lal Din and Ch Baber Iqbal for UC-141, Jehangir Khan Durrani and Haji Anyat Ali for UC-142, Rashid Advocate and Mian Rizwan Akber for UC-143, Muhammad Sajid Rauf and Malik Saleem Awan for UC-144, Mehar Afzal and Ijaz Chaan for UC-145, Muhammad Manzoor Butt and Sheikh Muhammad Ishrat for UC-146, Shoukat Ali Bhatti and Ch Muhammad Afzal for UC-147, Mian Irfan and Agha Ali Raza for UC-148, Rana Inam and Younis Shad for UC-149, Tariq Jamal Din and Javeed Waheed Kharal for UC-150, Ch Maqsood Gujjar and Haji Ishaq for UC-151 and Haji Ashraf Lamabardar and Ch Muhammad Akbar Janjua for UC-152.
The PPP has unable to get suitable candidates for half of the seats there. Those UCs where PPP candidates are not contesting for Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen are 141, 142, 144, 145, 146 and 156 while the candidates Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen for reaming UCs are Mehar Khadim Hussain and Muhammad Ishaq for UC-140, Seth Shoukat and Mian Ashraf for UC-143, Irshad Gill and Rana Munir for UC-147, Asif Mir Pehalwan and Mansha Gondal for UC-148, Samar Abbas and Azam Ali for UC-149, Ch Rehmat and Abdul Sattar for UC-151 and Malik Khalid Bobi and Haji Zulfiqar for UC-152.
The PTI has also able to pitch its candidates for Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen only in six Union Councils out of total 12 union councils of the Aziz Bhatti Town. The PTI candidates for Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen are, Muhammad Haris and Mian Imam Ali for UC-140, Muhammad Munawar and Imran Majeed for UC-141, Asghar Butt and Muzaffar Hussain Butt for UC-142, Shahid Nawaz Cheema and Mian Imtiaz for UC-143, Mian Shahbaz Awan and Ch Irshad for UC-144, Mian Muhammad Iftikhar and Mian Ashiq Ali for UC-145, Haji Muhammad Siddique and Rana Aleem for UC-146.

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus