Thursday October 21, 2021

LG polls vote counting continues

PML-N leads with 1,193 seats in Punjab, PPP with 720 in Sindh Independents emerge as third force as PTI performs poorly

November 02, 2015
LAHORE: The Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) are leading with the thumping majority in the first phase of the Local Government (LG) elections in Punjab and Sindh respectively, according to unofficial results received till late on Sunday night.
However, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) performed very poorly in Punjab and Sindh province. The first phase of the LG poll contest was held in 12 districts of Punjab and eight of Sindh.
According to unofficial results for 2,664 seats, out of a total 2,696 in Punjab, the PML-N was leading with 1,193 seats, Independents stood second with 1065 seats, while PTI remained in third place with 285 seats. The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) bagged 47, Pakistan Muslim League-Q (PML-Q) secured 44 seats, while the Jamaat-e-Islami and Pakistan Awami Tehreek got two seats each in Punjab.
In Sindh, 1,070 seats were contested and unofficial results for 1,000 were received till the filing of the report. The position in Sindh looked something like this: the PPP led with 720 seats, Pakistan Muslim League-F stood second with 71 seats, while independent candidates secured 174 slots. Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam (JUI) secured 11, Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) bagged 4, PTI grabbed 5, while the PML-N secured 3 seats in the province.
Out of 274 chairman seats in Lahore, unofficial results for 270 were announced. The PML-N was leading with 223 slots, PTI 12, PPP could win 1 seat and independent candidates got 33 seats.
In Faisalabad, unofficial results for 463 seats, out of 468, have been received. The PML-N secured 179 seats, PTI got 47, while independent candidates won 235 slots. Most of independent winners in Faisalabad belonged to the PML-N, who contested on their own after not getting the party tickets due to clash in party cadres in the district.
In Gujrat, the PML-N was leading with 50 seats, independents stood second with 35 seats, PTI got third position in the district with 16 seats, while PML-Q could get only 13 seats.
In Nankana Sahib, unofficial results for all 158 seats were received. PML-N was leading with 71 seats, independents won 65 slots while the PTI could secure 20 seats.
In Kasur, PML-N candidates won 52 seats, 23 independents were elected, while PTI got 13 seats. The PML-Q was able to secure 2 seats in this district.
In Okara, unofficial results for 277 seats, out of total 28 seats, were received. Results were like this: PML-N, 136; independents, 96; PTI, 24; and PPP, 9 seats.
In Bahawalnagar, unofficial results for 273, out of total 274 seats, were received. Independents secured highest number of seats, 175; PML-N got 54 seats, PML-Z, 19; and PTI got 16 seats.
In Pakpattan, PML-N candidates won 44 seats, PTI 11, PAT one seat and 38 independents stood winners, according to unofficial results.
In Vehari, unofficial results for all 177 seats were received. 86 independents won seats, PML-N got 62 slots, PTI 25, and PPP could win 3 seats.
In 24 wards of Haroonabad, PML-Z won 13 seats, and 10 seats were won by independents. Election on one seat was postponed.
In Lodhran, unofficial results for 137, out of total 140 seats, were received. The PML-N was leading with 71 seats, 50 independents secured their slots, and PTI candidates got 16 seats.
In Bhakkar district, results for 64 union councils were received. PML-N won 21 seats, 41 independents were declared winners, while only two candidates of PTI secured their seats, according to unofficial results.
In 32 union councils of Chakwal, PML-N got around 30 seats, while Sardar Ghulam Abbas Group candidates won 28 seats, two were won by PML-Q, 4 by PTI and 4 independents were declared successful.
In four union councils of Dallay Wala, 4 independents were declared successful in unofficial results.
In 20 union councils of Fort Abbas, 8 candidates of PML-Z, one PTI, and 11 independents secured seats.
In Sukkur, unofficial results for 102, out of total 103, were received. PPP got 82 seats, 13 independents won their seats, Muttahida Qaumi Movement, 4 and PML-F got two seats.
In Khairpur, the ancestral district of Sindh Chief Minister Qaim Ali Shah, unofficial results of 140, out of total 291 seats, were received. PPP got 85, PML-F 45, and 9 independents were declared successful.
In Larkana, the headquarters of the PPP, unofficial results of all 113 seats were received. PPP got 94, and 9 independents were declared successful, according to unofficial results.
As the unofficial results poured in, winning candidates and their jubilant supporters across Sindh and Punjab celebrated victories by dancing to the drum beats and party songs.
The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has ordered re-polling in 2 UCs, 17 wards in Punjab and 2 UCs, 4 wards in Sindh due to various complaints.