Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
March 14, 2019

Aussies take India ODI series


March 14, 2019

NEW DELHI: A fluent century by Usman Khawaja and incisive bowling helped Australia ease to a 35-run series clinching win in the fifth One-Day International on Wednesday.

Adam Zampa took three wickets to help dismiss India for 237 on the last ball of their innings after Khawaja’s 100 guided the tourists to 272-9 at Delhi’s Feroz Shah Kotla ground.

Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson and Marcus Stoinis claimed two wickets each to set up Australia’s first win in a five-match ODI series after being 0-2 down.

But the left-handed Khawaja stood out for the tourists with his 100 off 106 deliveries that guided Australia to what turned out to be a match-winning score.

His scores of 50, 38, 104 and 91 in the previous matches made him stand tall in the batting chart between the two teams.

The left-right batting pair of Khawaja and Handscomb stayed firm during a 99-run stand to lay the foundation of their team’s total after skipper Aaron Finch was out on 27.

Khawaja got the second hundred of his ODI career with a single off Kuldeep Yadav as he waved the bat to an applauding Australian dressing room.

He lost his wicket in the next over to paceman Bhuvneshwar Kumar with a drive to cover that was safely caught by skipper Virat Kohli.

Ravindra Jadeja returned to get the dangerous Glenn Maxwell for one and Handscomb was caught behind off Shami as Australia slipped to 182-4.

Score Board



Khawaja c Kohli b Kumar 100

Finch b Jadeja 27

Handscomb c Pant b Shami 52

Maxwell c Kohli b Jadeja 1

Stoinis b Kumar 20

Turner c Jadeja b Yadav 20

Carey c Pant b Shami 3

Richardson run out 29

Cummins c & b Kumar 15

Lyon not out 1

Extras (LB-1, W-3) 4

Total (9 wkts, 50 overs) 272

Fall of wickets: 1-76, 2-175, 3-178, 4-182, 5-210, 6-225, 7-229, 8-263, 9-272.

BOWLING: Kumar 10-0-48-3, Shami 9-0-57-2, Bumrah 10-0-39-0, Yadav 10-0-74-1, Jadeja 10-0-45-2, Jadhav 1-0-8-0.


Sharma st Carey b Zampa 56

Dhawan c Carey b Cummins 12

Kohli c Carey b Stoinis 20

Pant c Turner b Lyon 16

Shankar c Khawaja b Zampa 16

Jadhav c Maxwell b Richardson 44

Jadeja st Carey b Zampa 0

Kumar c Finch b Cummins 46

Shami c & b Richardson 3

Yadav b Stoinis 9

Bumrah not out 1

Extras (W-8, LB-6) 14

Total (All out, 50 overs) 237

Fall of wickets: 1-15, 2-68, 3-91, 4-120, 5-132, 6-132, 7-223, 8-223, 9-230, 10-237.

BOWLING: Cummins 10-1-38-2, Richardson 10-0-48-2, Stoinis 4-0-31-2, Lyon 10-1-34-1, Zampa 10-1-46-3, Maxwell 6-0-34-0.

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus