Fri, Nov 27, 2015, Safar 14, 1437 A.H | Last updated 2 hours ago
Hot Topics
You are here: Home > Today's Paper > Karachi
- Sunday, April 14, 2013 - From Print Edition




The election tribunal on Saturday allowed Bindiya Rana, a transvestite, to contest an election to a provincial assembly seat, PS-114 Karachi.


Rana had filed an appeal against the rejection of her nomination by the returning officer (RO) after her proposer failed to appear at the time of the submission of her papers.


The acceptance of her nomination brought joy the transgender community in Mahmoodabad, where she lives. Her friends danced on the streets and they celebrated with her.


Rana will be the first transgender candidate from Karachi to contest for a provincial assembly seat.


“I don’t have money. I roam around the city in a rickshaw or on foot for most of the day. Don’t expect me to organise mass rallies for my campaigns,” she said in an interview earlier this month. “But I am hopeful.”


She believes the people in the constituency know her since her childhood and will trust her with their mandate. Her constituency mostly includes poor shanty towns like Chanesar Goth, Azam Basti, Junejo Town and Mehmoodabad.


PPP candidates


The election tribunal also allowed PPPP candidates Suleman Abdullah, Mohammad Jamil Zia, Sadiq Ali Memon, Zulfiqar Ali Khaimkhani to contest polls from NA-258, PS-130, PS-95 and NA-237 Karachi.


It rejected the appeal of Bibi Yasmeen Shah against the nomination papers of PPP candidate Dr Fehmida Mirza from NA-225, and also turned down the appeal of Rao Irfan against former adviser Sharmila Farooqui, who has filed papers for a reserved seat.


The tribunal allowed Mohajir Qaumi Movement-Haqiqi candidates Waseem Ahmed, Mohammad Arif Khan, Jameelur Rub to contest elections from NA-254,PS-94 andNA-257, PS-127.


It dismissed a petition of Masood Mehmood against former MPA Irfanullah Khan Marwat from PS-114, and that of Mehboob Ali Abro against Awami Tehrik candidate Ayaz Lateef Paleejo from PS-47 Hyderabad. The appeal of Sami-ur-Bari Khan of the All Pakistan Muslim League against the rejection of his papers from PS-93 Karachi was however allowed.


The nomination papers of independent candidates Mohammad Faisal Khan Sherwani, Mohammad Shahid, Maula Bux Lund, Mir Hyder Khan Talpur from PS-101, PS-97, PS-75, PS-50 and NA-221 were accepted. The tribunal dismissed the appeal of Mohammad Ramzan Palari from NA-231 and PS-75.


The tribunal heard 106 appeals and allowed 58 candidates to contest polls from different national and provincial assemblies’ constituencies. It rejected the appeals of 26 candidates. The tribunal will resume its proceedings on Monday.