Thursday February 02, 2023

PSL Team Retention list revealed

By Web Desk
November 13, 2018

LAHORE: All six Pakistan Super League (PSL) teams here on Tuesday finalized the retentions for the upcoming edition of the league to be played next year in February.

 The  Pakistan Super League (PSL) has  revealed on Twitter :

Last year's champions Islamabad United retained all three Platinum players including Luke Ronchi, Shadab Khan and Faheem Ashraf, said a spokesman of the Pakistan Cricket Board.

"With Mohammad Hafeez going back into the Draft, Peshawar Zalmi opted for the pace duo of Wahab Riaz and Hassan Ali in their Platinum roster”, he said, adding, "Zalmi will use their lone Platinum pick at the Draft to pick a foreign player. Seasoned wicket-keeper Kamran Akmal moves to Diamond as Player Ambassador".

Karachi Kings retained Mohammad Amir,Babar Azam and Black Caps opening batsman Colin Munro as their Platinum picks with South African all-rounder Colin Ingram moving to Diamond as Player Ambassador, he added.

He said new signing Sunil Narine, who moved from Lahore Qalandars to Quetta Gladiators as part of a blockbuster trade, joins Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed to complete Quetta's Platinum retentions.

Star Australian all-rounder Shane Watson moves to Diamond as Player Mentor.

“The Sixth Team”'s retentions include star Pakistani all-rounder Shoaib Malik in Platinum and left-arm pacer Mohammad Irfan in Diamond as Player Ambassador, he said, adding, "Lahore Qalandars, who have the first pick at this season's Draft, retained opening batsman Fakhar Zaman as their only Platinum player while leg-spinner Yasir Shah was retained in Diamond".

Teams without Ambassadors or Mentors may nominate such appointments by close of business on November 13.

The Player Draft will be held on November 20 and Pakistan Super League (PSL) returns to action on February 14, 2019.

Following are the teams with their respective retentions:

Islamabad United

Platinum: Luke Ronchi, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf

Diamond: Asif Ali, Mohammad Sami

Gold: Rumman Raees (Relegetation Request Successful)

Silver: Hussain Talat (Ambassador), Waqas Maqsood, Sahbizada Farhan, Zafar Gohar

Karachi Kings

Platinum: Colin Munro, Mohammad Amir, Babar Azam

Diamond: Colin Ingram (Ambassador), Imad Wasim, Usman Shinwari

Gold: Mohammad Rizwan, Ravi Bopara

Lahore Qalandars

Platinum: Fakhar Zaman

Diamond: Yasir Shah

Gold: Shaheen Shah Afridi, Anton Devcich, Rahat Ali

Silver: Agha Salman, Sohail Akhtar, Hassan Khan

Pehsawar Zalmi

Platinum: Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali

Diamond: Daren Sammy, Kamran Akmal (Ambassador)

Gold: Liam Dawson

Silver: Umaid Asif, Khalid Usman

Emerging: Sameen Gul

Quetta Gladiators

Platinum: Sarfraz Ahmed, Sunil Narine

Diamond: Shane Watson (Mentor), Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Nawaz

Gold: Rilee Rossouw (Ambassador), Umar Akmal

Silver: Anwar Ali (Relegation Request Successful), Saud Shakil

The Sixth Team

Platinum: Shoaib Malik

Diamond: Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan (Ambassador)

Gold: Shan Masood

Silver: Mohammad Abbas, M. Irfan Khan, Umar Siddiq

Emerging: Mohammad Junaid,