Friday July 12, 2024

Australia Test tour: PCB announces new faces for Pakistan coaching staff

Ex-England all-rounder Adam Hollioake and Australia's Simon Grant Helmot to join Pakistan's team management

By Sports Desk
November 28, 2023
Former England all-rounder Adam Hollioake and Australias Simon Grant Helmot. — AFP
Former England all-rounder Adam Hollioake and Australia's Simon Grant Helmot. — AFP

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Tuesday announced two new members to the national coaching staff for the upcoming tour of Australia's three-match Test series.

Former England all-rounder Adam Hollioake and Australia's Simon Grant Helmot will be part of Pakistan's team management on the Test tour Down Under, which is slated to take place from December 2023 to January 2024, Geo Super reported.

As per PCB, Simon, 51, will serve as a high-performance coach. The Aussie has previously been part of various T20 franchises across the globe and has worked with Bangladesh as their high-performance coach.

Meanwhile, Holliaoke will serve as the batting coach. Adam Hollioake has coached the England Lions and Hong Kong cricket team in the past.

Team Management:

Naveed Akram Cheema (Team manager), Mohammad Hafeez (Director – Pakistan men’s cricket team), Adam Hollioake (batting coach), Simon Grant Helmot (high-performance coach), Umar Gul (fast bowling coach), Saeed Ajmal (spin bowling coach), Abdul Majeed (fielding coach), Mansoor Rana (assistant team manager), Shahid Aslam (assistant batting coach), Drikus Saaiman (strength and conditioning coach/Trainer), Cliffe Deacon (physiotherapist), Talha Ejaz (team analyst), Lt Col (Rtd) Akhtar Hussain (security manager), Raza Rashid Kitchlew (media manager), Ammar Ahsan (videographer), Dr Sohail Saleem (team doctor) and Malang Ali (team masseur).

The Pakistan cricket team will play their first Test match against Australia in Perth from December 14 to 18, followed by a Test match in Melbourne, from 26. Sydney will host the last game of the tour from January 3, 2024.

The squad is set to depart from Lahore on November 30.

Pakistan squad for Australia Tests: Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi.