Sun, Nov 29, 2015, Safar 16, 1437 A.H | Last updated 13 hours ago
Hot Topics
You are here: Home > News > National

Nawaz Sharif to be elected prime minister today

- June 05, 2013 - Updated 010 PKT - From Web Edition

ISLAMABAD: Mian Nawaz Sharif is all set to become prime minister for a record third time today (Wednesday).


The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz chief will assume the charge of the prime minister after a gap of over 13 long years. Nawaz Sharif will become the first person to assume the office for a third time, which has only become possible after the removal of a ban restricting a candidate from holding public office for a maximium of two terms.


The Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl, the Muttahida Qaumi Movment and Aftab Khan Sherpao will support Mr Sharif for the election of prime minister while the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf have decided not to give an unopposed victory to the PML-N.


PPP’s Makhdoom Amin and PTI’s Javed Hashmi will be competing against Mian Nawaz Sharif in the election to be held during the National Assembly session today.


The numbers game


As many as 171 votes are required to win the coveted post of leader of the house in the 342-member lower house of the parliament. Sharif’s party alone enjoys the single majority to get its candidate elected without the support of any other party.


PML-N leader Ishaq Dar said that they had contacted different political parties. He, however, added that no efforts were carried out for a consensus candidate for the slot of prime minister.


However, Amin Fahim declined to comment on any prospect before the election while the other contestant Javed Hashmi dubbed the contest as beauty of democracy.


The ascertainment of the new leader of the house in the National Assembly will take place through division of votes.


Reader Comments
I am very happy that Mr. Mian Nawaz Sharif become a Prime of Pakistan

humma bhool na jana ..... hum awam

usman tahir
We remember,there was earthquake in Pakistan,when he was taking oath last time.

 Post Your Comments  (3)
If you are facing problem in submitting your comments, please click here to report your problem.