Saturday July 02, 2022

Naya Pakistan housing project expanded to 10 new cities: minister

August 22, 2020

LAHORE: The Punjab Minister for Housing and Urban Development Mian Mehmoodur Rashid on Friday said the Punjab government under Naya Pakistan Housing Project had decided to start construction of houses in 10 new cities of Punjab.

He said that the houses would be constructed in Lahore, Rawalpindi, Faisalabad, Sialkot, Chiniot, Chishtian, Kharian, Pattoki, Hazro and Lodhran in collaboration with the developers, builders and investors.

Mian Mehmoodur Rashid said that various investors, developers and builders have approached the Punjab Housing and Town Planning Agency (PHATA) to join the Naya Pakistan Housing Project and the process is underway.

The housing schemes of the builders will be approved and the construction of low-cost houses will be started in the cities as soon as possible, he added. The housing and urban development minister said that according to the policy, provision of subsidy of Rs 300,000 to the low-income segments of society will be provide for constructing their houses.

Mian Mehmoodur Rashid stated that according to the vision of Prime Minister Imran Khan under the Naya Pakistan Housing Project the government has extended full cooperation to the private builders and developers. The housing related policies have been formulated in consultation with all the stakeholders, he said.