Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!


Web Desk
July 21, 2019

Elections in merged tribal districts: 11 results announced, vote count underway


Web Desk
Sun, Jul 21, 2019

PESHAWAR: Eleven unofficial and unverified results have been announced  following today's elections for 16 Provincial Assembly (PA) seats in seven tribal districts of the erstwhile Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) after their merger with Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP).

According to unofficial and unverified results received from PK-100, Bajaur-I, PTI's Anwar Zeb Khan was declared successful. He grabbed 13,160 votes, followed by Waheed Gul of Jamaat-e-Islami with 11,694 votes.

PTI's Ajmal Khan was declared winner from PK-101, Bajaur-II. He bagged 12,204 votes, followed by Jamaat-e-Islami's Haroon-ur-Rashid who got 10,448. 

According to the unofficial and unverified results of PK-102, Bajaur-III, Jamaat-e-Islami's Siraj-ud-Din was declared successful with 19,088 votes, followed by Hamid-ur-Rehman with 13,436 votes. 

From PK-103, Mohmand-I, ANP's Nisar Ahmed was announced successful with 11,218 votes, followed by PTI's Rahim Shah with 10,314 votes,  according to the unofficial and unverified results.

According to unofficial and unverified results from PK-104, Mohmand-II, independent candidate Abbas-ur-Rehman bagged 11,751 votes, followed by JUI-F's Muhammed Arif, who got 9,801 votes. 

Results from all 110 polling stations in PK-105, Khyber-I have been received by Geo News. Shafiq Afridi got 19,524 votes to win the seat, followed by independent candidate Shairmat Khan with 10,744. 

From the same constituency for the National Assembly, the federal minister Noorul Haq Qadri was elected in the recent general elections. However, in this election for the provincial assembly, his opponent was elected.

In PK-106, Khyber-II, independent candidate Bilal Afridi was declared successful with 12,800 votes, followed by Amir Muhammed Khan Afridi with 6521 votes. 

The JUI's Muhammed Riaz got 12,138 votes, followed by independent candidate Jamil Khan with 11,431 votes, according to unofficial and unverified results received from PK-108, Kurram-1

PTI's Syed Iqbal Mian bagged 39,539 votes from PK-109, Kurram-II, according to unofficial and unverified results. Independent candidate Inayat Hussain is the runner-up with 22,975 votes. 

Another independent candidate Syed Ghazi Ghazan Jamal obtained 18,540 votes from PK-110, Orakzai, followed by PTI's Shoaib Hasan 14,699 votes. 

PTI's Abid-ur-Rehman bagged 20,699 votes in PK-115, ex-Frontier Region. JUI's Muhammed Shoaib got 18,373 votes to be runner-up. 

The polling started at 8.00 am and continued till 5.00 pm without any break.

More than 2.8 million people exercised their right of vote in the historical elections, held with full security measures.

Tight security measures were taken to ensure holding of the polling in a peaceful and transparent manner.

Besides local police, Pakistan Army was also deployed in and outside the polling stations to help the administration in maintaining peaceful atmosphere in the elections.

According to an official of Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), total registered voters in these areas were 2,801,834, out of which 1,671,305 voters were male while 1,130,529 were female.

The ECP had appointed eight District Returning Officers, 36 Assistant Returning Offices and 1897 Presiding Officers.

The official said total 282 candidates were contesting election.

He added that 28 candidates were contesting elections on seats reserved for women and non-Muslim including 22 on women seats and six on non-Muslim seats.

He said the commission had set up 1,897 polling stations out of which 482 were male, 376 were female and 1,039 were combined polling stations.

The official said that Army troops were deployed outside all 1897 polling stations whereas inside and outside all 554 highly sensitive polling stations.

He said to encourage female voters to cast their votes more conveniently, female security staff was deployed at all female polling stations and female booths of all combined polling stations.

He said ECP had already directed the provincial government for installation of CCTV cameras at all booths of 1,897 polling stations and in this regard, Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) had also been issued to all concerned.

He said a complaint center had been established in ECP secretariat Islamabad as well as in ECP office Peshawar.

The official said the ECP had printed 2,891,000 ballot papers for 2,801,834 voters.