Sunday May 19, 2024

New Zealand make last minute squad changes for T20I tour of Pakistan

New Zealand will arrive in Pakistan on morning of April 14; series to begin from next week

By Web Desk
April 12, 2024
New Zealand cricket team. — AFP/File
New Zealand cricket team. — AFP/File

New Zealand has ruled out two players from the squad for the upcoming T20I series against Pakistan, which is set to kick off next week, as the team prepares to depart for Islamabad.

Finn Allen and Adam Milne of New Zealand sustained injuries during training leading to their unprecedented removal from the T20 series roster.

The Black Caps' 24-year-old batter and occasional wicket-keeper Allen, suffered a back injury while the 31-year-old fast bowler Milne, suffered an injury to his ankle.

However, both injured players were swiftly replaced with wicketkeeper-batter Tom Blundell, who visited Pakistan last year, and all-rounder Zack Fowlkes, who will mark his first time in the squad.

Coach Gary Stead said: "We feel for both Finn and Adam, suffering injuries so close to the start of the tour. They have been strong performers for us in the T20 format since the last World Cup.

"Tom is a highly experienced player and along with his wicketkeeping and batting skillsets is a leader in any group he is a part of. He also brings recent experience in the conditions, having taken part in both tours to Pakistan last year," he said.

"Zack has had an impressive season for Canterbury including being their leading wicket taker in all three competitions. He has displayed impressive skills with the ball, particularly in T20 cricket for the Kings."

The New Zealand T20 squad is set to depart for Pakistan today and will arrive in Islamabad on the morning of April 14 and will kickoff the tournament on April 18 at the Pindi Stadium in Rawalpindi.

Nine top cricketers from New Zealand are already out of the squad due to their commitments to the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Pakistan squad for T20 2024

Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Irfan Niazi, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Khan, Zaman Khan, Usama Mir.

New Zealand squad for T20 2024

Michael Bracewell (c), Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Zack Fowlkes, Jimmy Neesham, Will O'Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi.