Sunday April 21, 2024

Nisar new president of Pakistan Badminton Federation

By our correspondents
January 20, 2018

KARACHI: Nisar Ahmed Shahwani of Balochistan and Wajid Ali Chaudhry of Punjab were elected as president and secretary, respectively, of Pakistan Badminton Federation (PBF) on Friday.

The electoral meeting was held at the Punjab Olympic Association’s (PbOA) office at Lahore. Pakistan Sports Board’s (PSB) senior official Raja Zulfiqar Akhtar and PbOA’s Idrees Haider Khawaja were present as observers on behalf of the Board and Pakistan Olympic Association (POA).

Nisar, who is also secretary of Balochistan Badminton Association, replaces Mian Iftikhar Hussain of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.Iftikhar, a senior provincial leader of the Awami National Party (ANP), had told the PBF that he could not spare time for badminton and so he would not contest elections.

“Yes, Iftikhar told us that he could not spare time for badminton, so we decided to bring in Nisar who has been attached with the game for the last 15 years,” Wajid, who retained his seat, told ‘The News’.

Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Islamabad, AJK, Gilgit-Baltistan, WAPDA, Railways, Pakistan Badminton Technical Association and Lady Member and Individual Member were part of the electoral process.Mian Iftikhar had nominated former vice-president of PBF Zafar Ali Khan to preside over the meeting.

Office-bearers: Nisar Ahmad Shahwani (Balochistan, president), Muhammad Razzaq Gill (WAPDA, chairman), Tayyab Sohail (Punjab, senior vice-president), Hammad Hassan Mirza (Railways, vice-president), Pervez Habib Butt (Islamabad, vice-president), Zarina Waqar (Punajb, vice-president, women), Wajid Ali Chaudhry (Punjab, secretary), Iftikhar Hussain (Sindh, treasurer), Raja Azhar Mehmood (PBTOA, joint secretary), Amjad Wali (Gilgit-Baltistan, ExCo member), Farah (Balochistan, ExCo member), Ayesha Akram (former national champion, lady member PBF), Zahid Maqbool (former national champion, individual member PBF).