Monday February 06, 2023

All set for AJK polls in KP

By Agencies
July 25, 2021

PESHAWAR: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has made all the arrangements to hold the election for the two constituencies of Azad Jammu and Kashmir in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

The ECP said in a statement that it had delivered the election materials to hold the election.

The polling for constituency LA-45 Kashmir Valley 6 and LA-39 Jammu will be held on July 25.

A total of 6951 voters will exercise their right to vote, an ECP official said, adding that 41 polling stations had been set up for the election.

The polling will start at 8am and continue till 5pm.

More than 400 security personnel will be deployed at polling stations.

Four candidates, including Abdul Majeed from Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, Noorul Bari of Jamaat-e-Islami and independent candidates Abdul Nasir and Mushahid Mushtaq are in the run for the two seats.

A total of 3860 men and 3091 women will exercise their right to vote.

He said that 13 candidates were contesting for constituency LA-39 Jammu including PPP’s Chaudhry Fakhr Zaman, PML-N’s Raja Muhammad Siddique and PTI’s Dr Nazia Niaz.

TLP’s Chaudhry Rashid Mahmood, Nazar Abbas Shah from Muslim Conference Party, Mirza Tajmal Jral, Muhammad Waheed, Ayesha Mustafa and Wajahat Ilyas are also competing as independents, the ECP spokesman said.