Saturday October 23, 2021

Kuwait bans flights from Pakistan, three other countries indefinitely

The residents of these countries must spend 14 days in another country before heading for Kuwait

Web Desk
May 10, 2021
Representational image.  — AFP/File

KUWAIT: Kuwait Directorate General for Civil Aviation (ODGCA) on Monday suspended direct commercial flights from Nepal, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka until further notice, state news agency KUNA reported.

The DGCA, in a statement, said the residents of these countries must spend 14 days in another country before heading to Kuwait.

However, the decision taken by the Gulf state's cabinet does not restrict cargo flights from entering the country.

"The decision has come in line with instructions by the Kuwaiti health authorities, considering the contagion status in such high-hazard countries," KUNA said.

The development comes after UAE said it would from Wednesday suspend the entry of all travellers, including transit passengers, from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal and Sri Lanka amid the COVID pandemic.

The UAE, which is made up seven emirates, has already suspended flights from India, as coronavirus cases in the country spiked to global records.

The surge has spilled into Bangladesh, Nepal and Sri Lanka. Pakistan is also struggling to contain a third wave of infections.

Flights from and through the UAE and heading to the four countries will be exempt, the General Civil Aviation Authority said in a statement carried on state news agency WAM.

The GCAA said that those coming from the four nations through other countries must stay in those third countries for at least 14 days.

UAE nationals and passengers in private jets are exempt provided they quarantine for 10 days and undergo PCR tests upon arrival and on the fourth and eighth days after entering the country.

Cargo flights will continue to operate between the UAE and the four countries.

— Additional input from AFP