Wednesday December 06, 2023

Who will officiate India, Australia World Cup 2023 final?

Kangaroos and two-time winners Men in Blue will face each other in final at Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium on November 19

By Web Desk
November 17, 2023
The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 trophy. — ICC
The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 trophy. — ICC

With the World Cup 2023 set to culminate with hosts India locking horns with mighty Australia in a highly anticipated final, the International Cricket Council Friday revealed the match officials for the all-important final scheduled to take place on November 19 (Sunday).

Australia, five-time ODI World Cup champions, are looking for their sixth title as two-time winners India eyeing their first ICC trophy since 2013, in the much-anticipated final at Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium.

England's Richard Illingworth and Richard Kettleborough will fulfil their duties as on-field umpires in the final match at Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi stadium.

This is the second ODI World Cup final for Kettleborough, who previously officiated in the final of the 2015 Cricket World Cup along with Sri Lanka's Kumar Dharmasena.

However, Sunday's showdown is likely to surpass the 2015 World Cup final — attended by more than 93,000 spectators — as the Ahmedabad venue is capable of accommodating 132,000 spectators.

Meanwhile, for Illingworth, it will also be his second appearance in a World Cup final, although his first as a match official. He was a player in the 1992 Cricket World Cup final.

Both the umpires were elevated to the ICC International List on the same day in November 2009 and officiated as on-field umpires during the semi-finals this week; Illingworth oversaw India’s win over New Zealand in Mumbai, while Kettleborough presided over Australia’s thrilling victory against South Africa in Kolkata.

Illingworth and Kettleborough have had illustrious careers with both officials receiving the David Shepherd Trophy, presented to the ICC's Umpire of the Year.

Kettleborough secured this award three consecutive times between 2013 and 2015, while Illingworth earned it in 2019 and 2022.

Joining them as officials for the crucial final on Sunday is Joel Wilson as the third umpire, Chris Gaffaney as the fourth umpire, and match referee Andy Pycroft — all of whom were amongst the officials who officiated the semi-finals as well.