Wednesday July 24, 2024

WATCH: Who are the commentators for T20 World Cup

ICC releases fun video to announce 29-member commentary team for T20 World Cup

By Web Desk
October 16, 2022
Former Irish cricketer Niall OBrien and former Pakistani cricketer Bazid Khan. — ICC/File
Former Irish cricketer Niall O'Brien and former Pakistani cricketer Bazid Khan. — ICC/File

As the most anticipated cricket event, the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 kicked off on Sunday, the International Cricket Council (ICC) revealed the commentary team comprising some of the most esteemed former cricketers and popular voices from around the globe.

The elite commentary line-up will be calling the shots from the commentary box for this season of the T20 World Cup 2022, a statement issued by the ICC said. 

The ICC also released a fun video in which Mel Jones and Adam Gilchrist create a Whatsapp group and add all the commentators featuring the T20 World Cup 2022 in it.

The list of 29 commentators included several popular names featuring alongside some recently retired cricketers like Eoin Morgan, Preston Mommsen, Dale Steyn and Niall O'Brien, while Mel Jones, Isa Guha and Natalie Germanos are the female participants.

Here is the complete list of commentators for T20 World Cup 2022:

Adam Gilchrist, Athar Ali Khan, Bazid Khan, Brian Murgatroyd, Carlos Brathwaite, Dale Steyn, Danny Morrison, Dirk Nannes, Eoin Morgan, Harsha Bhogle, Ian Bishop, Ian Smith, Isa Guha, Mark Howard, Mel Jones, Michael Atherton, Michael Clarke, Nasser Hussain, Natalie Germanos, Niall O'Brien, Pommie Mbangwa, Preston Mommsen, Ravi Shastri, Russell Arnold, Samuel Badree, Shane Watson, Shaun Pollock, Simon Doull, Sunil Gavaskar.

The video was enjoyed by cricket fans and garnered over 10K likes and nearly 1,500 retweets.

Have a look at the reactions here:

The eighth edition of the tournament began with a "historic day" as Namibia hammered Asia Cup champions Sri Lanka by 55 runs to cause a major upset in the opening match of the T20 World Cup on Sunday.

There are 16 teams participating in the World Cup, with Round 1 featuring eight teams split into two groups. The four teams that make it to the Super 12 will then be put into the existing two groups with the top eight teams for group fixtures before the semi-finals and finals.

Australia, the hosts, are also the defending champions and will aim to become the first team to win a T20 World Cup title at home. India, England and Pakistan, who occupy the top three places in the ICC Men's T20I team rankings, are also strong contenders for the title.