Saturday July 20, 2024

T20 World Cup 2024: Australia defeat Namibia to qualify for Super 8

Australia looked in control throughout the match

By Web Desk
June 12, 2024
Australian players celebrate after taking a wicket. - Cricket Australia
Australian players celebrate after taking a wicket. - Cricket Australia

Australia handed Namibia a sound drubbing in just 5.4 overs, while chasing 73, at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua, on Wednesday.

Being the top of the group with 6 points, Australia qualified for the Super 8 stage of the cricket event. 

David Warner was the only Australian batter dismissed by Namibia. However, he scored 20 off 8 balls. Travis Head and Mitchell Marsh remained unbeaten with 34 and 18 runs respectively. Travis hit 5 fours and 2 sixes. 

Earlier, Australian bowlers restricted Namibia to only 72 runs in their innings after deciding to bowl first.

Australia's Leg-spinner Adam Zampa achieved a milestone by becoming the first Australian male cricketer to claim 100 wickets in T20I cricket. He displayed superior bowling with 4-12 figures in four overs against Namibia.

Leg-spinner Adam Zampa became the first Australian men's cricketer to take 100 wickets in T20I cricket after bagging figures of 4-12 in four overs.

Australian bowlers dominated the game throughout the innings of Namibia. Pacer Josh Hazlewood claimed two wickets for 18 runs in four overs. Marcus Stoinis also dismissed two batters in his three overs. 

Namibia captain Gerhard Erasmus, who took 17 balls to get off the mark, was the highest run-scorer with 36 runs in 43 balls with the help of four fours and a six.

Apart from Erasmus, Michael van Lingen was the only batter who got into double figures with 10 runs.

This was the first competitive T20I between Australia and Namibia. But they played each other in a warm-up game before this tournament, with Australia registering a convincing seven-wicket win.


Namibia: Nikolaas Davin, Michael van Lingen, Jan Frylinck, Gerhard Erasmus(c), JJ Smit, Zane Green(w), David Wiese, Ruben Trumpelmann, Bernard Scholtz, Jack Brassell, Ben Shikongo.

Australia: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh(c), Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade(w), Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.