Wednesday May 29, 2024

Amir, Imad return to national team as PCB announces squad for NZ series

Five-match T20I series is scheduled to take place from April 18; Babar Azam to lead Green Shirts

By Web Desk
April 09, 2024
Mohammad Amir (L) with Imad Wasim (R). — PCB
Mohammad Amir (L) with Imad Wasim (R). — PCB

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Tuesday announced the 17-member squad which will feature in the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand. 

Pacer Mohammad Amir and all-rounder Imad Wasim made a comeback to the national squad for the five-match home series after they reserved their retirement recently. 

Meanwhile, Usman Khan and Muhammad Irfan Khan will debut for the national side. 

Babar Azam will lead the team in the five-match series after he was recently reinstated as the Green Shirt's skipper for white-ball matches.

The five-match T20I series is scheduled to take place from April 18 and the visiting team will reach Pakistan on April 14.

Speaking during the press conference, Wahab Riaz said that the PCB has announced a squad of 17 players and five have been kept as reserves, which means that they will be relied upon to perform well ahead of finalising the World Cup squad before April 25.

“We will finalise which boys will be part of the World Cup squad from Pakistan before April 25.”

Commenting on the return of Babar as captain as well as the lack of a vice captain in the team, Wahab said: “Babar Azam is the white ball captain. As far as the vice-captain is concerned, discussions are still continuing. We want somebody to stand by Babar. We will look into everything that is beneficial for the betterment of the team and make announcements later.”

Wahab also provided an injury update on pacer Haris Rauf, saying he will “probably be fit for the England series” but will miss the five T20Is against New Zealand. 

In a press release issued by the PCB, Wahab said that the "decision to include Imad Wasim and Mohammad Amir was a straightforward one, given their availability for selection and considering Haris Rauf's injury and Mohammad Nawaz's current form."

"Both Amir and Imad possess undeniable match-winning capabilities, and we trust they will consistently deliver strong performances to bolster the team's objectives," he added.


Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Irfan Niazi, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Khan, Zaman Khan, Usama Mir

Non-travelling reserves

Haseebullah, Muhammad Ali, Wasim Jr, Sahibzada Farhan, Salman Ali Agha

Pakistan vs New Zealand T20I series schedule

April 14 — New Zealand arrive in Pakistan

April 16-17 — Training/practice

April 18 — 1st T20I, Rawalpindi

April 20 — 2nd T20I, Rawalpindi

April 21 — 3rd T20I, Rawalpindi

April 25 — 4th T20I, Lahore

April 27 — 5th T20I, Lahore