Mepco suspends three officials for poor performance

February 23,2019

Share Next Story >>>

MULTAN: The Multan Electric Power Company (Mepco) has suspended three officials - sub-divisional officer, line superintendent and a meter reader - of Mepco Muzaffargarh circle for showing poor performance and complaints of overbilling.

The officials said that the Mepco had also penalised eight more officials over their failure to prevent power theft and showing poor performance in Mepco Vehari circle.

Mepco chief executive engineer Tahir Mehmood Friday suspended Muzaffargarh circle SDO-I Kausar Saeed Mirza, Khangarh subdivision line superintendent Syed Riyasat Ali and meter reader M Arshad.

He ordered all the suspended officials to report Multan Mepco headquarters, said the company’s spokesperson. The Mepco chief executive also issued orders to all the Mepco officials for holding open courts in their respective jurisdictions and resolution of public complaints.

He warned all the Mepco circles that he would not spare those Mepco officials who are found in overbilling and incompetent officials would be terminated from jobs.

Meanwhile, Vehari Mepco superintending engineer Rais Abdul Ahad penalised eight employees on showing poor performance and failing to prevent power pilferage.

The Mepco Vehari circle demoted Burewala Satellite Town subdivision meter reader Abdul Majid for one year over his failure to prevent power theft.

Mailsi subdivision meter reader Ghulam Mustafa was also demoted on failing to stop power theft. He is now appointed as bill distributor.

The Mepco Vehari circle stopped two years annual increments to Sardarpur Jhandir subdivision line superintendent M Arshad and Tibba Sultanpur subdivision line superintendent Waqar Anjum on finding them guilty in corruption cases. The Mepco has also stopped the one-year increments to five more officials over their failure to prevent power theft.

The officials belonged to Burewala Haji Sher subdivision, Luddon subdivision, Madina Town subdivision.

Earlier, Mepco had suspended 10 officials on the charge of facilitating power pilferers in January.

Liaquatpur division XEN Sajid Salahuddin, SDO Satellite Town M Hussain, SDO Ibrar Hussain, acting lineman Ghulam Shabbir, SSO second Kamran Maqsood. meter readers Shahbaz Sharif, M Iftikhar, Shahbaz Anwar, lineman Tariq Mehmood and M Ali were suspended for facilitating the electricity pilferage. Meter readers Ehsan Ali, Shahid Hussain and Majid Munir were terminated from the job.

ADCR takes charge: Additional Deputy Commissioner (Revenue) Zaheer Abbas Sherazi assumed charge of Director General Parks and Horticulture Authority (PHA). On the occasion, he urged the employees to work with devotion.


More From Peshawar