PPP, ANP affiliated joint panel wins PHCBA polls

April 29,2018

Share Next Story >>>

PESHAWAR: Senior lawyers Syed Abdul Fayaz was elected president and Yasir Khattak general secretary of the Peshawar High Court Bar Association (PHCBA) here on Saturday.

Abdul Fayaz defeated his rival candidate Muhammad Isa Khan by a huge margin of 348 votes in the annual PHCBA elections for 2018.

As per the results, Syed Abdul Fayaz won the office of president by securing 717 votes against 369 votes polled by Muhammad Isa Khan. The third contender for the post, Esaac Ali Qazi, got 279 votes and the fourth, Hashim Raza, received 59 votes only.

Abdul Fayaz is affiliated with the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), which had entered into an alliance with Awami National Party (ANP)-affiliated Malgaree Wakeelan and Justice Lawyers Forum (JLF).

Muhammad Yasir Khattak won the election for general secretary by obtaining 724 votes. His opponent Abid Ali got 699 votes.

Muhammad Ibrahim Khan won the post of vice-president by securing 756 votes. His rival Taskeenuddin Khattak obtained 622 votes.

The joint secretary’s office was won by Muhammad Sufian who secured 711 votes against his rival candidate Muhammad Ayaz who polled 697 votes.

Sabiha Iqbal Khattak won the election for the post of secretary library.

Two candidates have been elected unopposed. They included Imanullah as secretary finance and Asad Zeb as press secretary.

Most of the candidates for the executive body were elected unopposed. Kamran Ahmad and Faisal Irshad were elected unopposed from Peshawar district, Hasan Gul from Charsadda, Muhammad Sohail Anwar from Mardan, Muhammad Sagheer from Swabi and Gul Hassan from Hangu.Meanwhile, Abdul Haleem Khan was elected as president of the PHC Mingora branch.


More From Peshawar