MPA-elect from Torghar joins PTI

By Our Correspondent
February 21, 2024

MANSEHRA: The Awami National Party (ANP) leader Laiq Muhammad Khan Swati, who has been elected as an independent contestant from Torghar’s only provincial assembly seat, has joined the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI).

The Awami National Party (ANP) leader Laiq Muhammad Khan Swati speaks in video interview on February 20, 2024. — Facebook/Laiq Muhammad Khan

“I had launched mega development projects in this far-off district after winning the same seat on the ANP ticket in 2018. And I will continue my mission to serve the area this time as well,” he told reporters in Oghi on Tuesday.

The former lawmaker met with Chief Minister- designate Ali Amin Gandapur in the presence of former governor Shah Farman and former speaker of provincial assembly, Mushtaq Ahmad Ghani, and vowed his allegiance to the PTI founding chairman Imran Khan and his party.

Laiq Muhammad Khan, who is the younger brother of PTI’s Azam Khan Swati, had contested the February 8 general elections as an independent candidate after ANP leadership awarded the ticket to former MPA Zareen Gul Bacha for PK-41 Torghar.