Fri, Nov 27, 2015, Safar 14, 1437 A.H | Last updated 1 hour ago
Hot Topics
You are here: Home > Today's Paper > National
Services of two judges terminated; two face compulsory retirement;five get final show cause notices
- Sunday, March 20, 2011 - From Print Edition


LAHORE: The administration committee of the Lahore High Court on Saturday took a strict action against judicial officers on charges of corruption and misconduct and removed two judges from service, made compulsory retirement of two others and initiated a disciplinary action against nine officers besides issuing final show cause notice to five of them.


According to a notification by the LHC registrar on Saturday, the committee conducted disciplinary proceedings against many judicial officers on different allegations, including corruption, breach of code of conduct for judiciary and hold-up in disposal of cases in their respective courts.


The services of AD&SJ Muhammad Bhawaz Bhatti from Pasrur were terminated by the committee. It imposed penalty of removal from service on Civil Judge Syed Farrukh Hussain Shamsi from Jatoi. The committee imposed major penalty of compulsory retirement from service on two AD&SJ Abdul Haseeb Sheikh OSD and Nazir Ahmad Langha, Rahimyar Khan. It imposed minor penalty of withholding two annual increments for two years on Civil Judge Muhammad Yousaf Hanjra. Minor penalty of censure was imposed upon two judicial officers AD&SJ Ahmad Khan from Sialkot and Civil Judge Syeda Sarwat Mumtaz from Kasur.


The LHC committee also issued final show cause notice for imposition of major penalty to five judicial officers, including two AD&SJs Muhammad Shafiq Butt from Burewala and Riaz Ahmad Khan Toba Tek Singh and three civil judges Muhammad Saleem Sheikh from Hasilpur, Mujahid Abbas Suhail from Rahimyar Khan and Faiz Ahmad Ranjah OSD. It reinstated ex-civil judge Shahwar Amin Wagha and initiated de novo proceedings against nine judicial officers including District and Session Judge (D&SJ) Syed Kazim Shami from Gujranwala, AD&SJ Khadim Hussain from Jampur and seven civil judges Sharafat Ali Nasir from Mianwali, Muhammad Tariq from Khanewal, Muhammad Aslam Dhariwal from Sillanwali, Waqar Mansoor from Bhowana, Faisal Jaim OSD, Khalid Mahmood Warraich from Sialkot and Muhammad Ziaul Tariq from Rawalpindi.


The LHC administrative committee also initiated disciplinary proceedings against one D&SJ, two AD&SJs, a senior civil judge and five civil judges. The D&SJ is Muhammad Masroor Zaman, AD&SJ is Syed Ahsan Mahboob Bokhari from Pasrur, senior civil judge is Muhammad Kashif from Bahwalpur and civil judges are Muhammad Aslam Bhariwal from Sillanwali, Syed Hassan Abbas from Gujranwala, Muhammad Inayat Gondal from Multan, Khalid Yaqub Warraich from Isa Khel and Muhammad Saleem Sheikh from Hasilpur.