Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!


Web Desk
January 10, 2021

PSL 2021 draft: Live updates


Web Desk
Sun, Jan 10, 2021

The Pakistan Cricket Board conducted the players draft for the upcoming edition of the Pakistan Super League on Sunday in Lahore.

More than 400 international players registered for the sixth edition of the league. Over 90 players from the West Indies, 80 from England, 40 from Sri Lanka, around 30 from South Africa and Afghanistan each, 20 from Bangladesh, 14 from Australia and eight from New Zealand were in the line up. 

The star-studded player pool included Chris Gayle, Dawid Malan, Rashid Khan, David Miller, Dale Steyn, Dinesh Chandimal.

The draft consisted of 18 rounds — 16 regular and two supplementary — with all franchises selecting players based on their pick order.

Updates are given below:



1. Quetta Gladiators pick Dale Steyn.

2. Peshawar Zalmi pick Ravi Bopara.

3. Islamabad United pick Chris Jordan.

4. Lahore Qalandars pick Joe Denly.

5. Karachi Kings pick Noor Ahmad.

6. Multan Sultans pick Imran Khan Sr.

7. Peshawar Zalmi pick Mohammad Amir Khan.

8. Quetta Gladiators pick Usman Khan.

9. Islamabad United pick Akif Javed.

10. Lahore Qalandars pick Ahmed Danyal.

11. Multan Sultans pick Carlos Brathwaite.


1. Quetta Gladiators pick Saim Ayub.

2. Multan Sultans pick Shahnawaz Dhani.

3. Peshawar Zalmi pick Ibrar Ahmed.

4. Karachi Kings pick Qasim Akram.

5. Lahore Qalandars pick Maaz Khan.

6. Islamabad United pick Mohammad Wasim Jr.

7. Lahore Qalandars pick Zaid Alam.

8. Peshawar Zalmi pick Mohammad Imran.

9. Multan Sultans pick Mohammad Omar.

10. Islamabad United pick Ahmed Saifi Abdullah.

11. Quetta Gladiators pick Arish Ali Khan.


1. Karachi Kings pick Joe Clarke.

2. Quetta Gladiators pick Cameron Delport.

3. Multan Sultans pick Sohail Khan.

4. Peshawar Zalmi pick Umaid Asif.

5. Islamabad United pick Rohail Nazir.

6. Lahore Qalandars pick England's Tom Abell.

7. Lahore Qalandars pick Zeeshan Ashraf.

8. Karachi Kings pick Danish Aziz.

9. Multan Sultans pick Mohammad Rizwan.

10. Islamabad United pick Reece Topley.

11. Peshawar Zalmi retain Saqib Mehmood.

12. Quetta Gladiators pick Afghanistan's Qais Ahmed.

13. Peshawar Zalmi retain Imam-ul-Haq.

14. Multan Sultans pick Sohaib Maqsood.

15. Islamabad United pick Iftikhar Ahmed.

16. Quetta Gladiators pick Abdul Nasir.

17. Karachi Kings pick Mohammad Ilyas.

18. Lahore Qalandars pick Salman Ali Agha.

19. Lahore Qalandars pick Mohammad Faizan.

20. Peshawar Zalmi pick Mohammad Imran.

21. Multan Sultans pick Sohaibullah.

22. Karachi Kings pick Zeeshan Malik.

23. Multan Sultans pick Adam Lyth.

24. Peshawar Zalmi pick Mohammad Irfan.


1. Lahore Qalandars retain Samit Patel.

2. Peshawar Zalmi pick Amad Butt.

3. Quetta Gladiators choose Usman Shinwari.

4. Karachi Kings retain Chadwick Walton.

5. Islamabad United retain  Phil Salt.


1. Karachi Kings - Mohammad Nabi.

2. Peshawar Zalmi - Mujeeb-ur-Rehman.

3.  Karachi Kings - Dan Christian.

4. Peshawar Zalmi - Sherfane Rutherford

5- Islamabad United - Lewis Gregory.


1. Islamabad United - Hassan Ali

2. Multan Sultans - Chris Lynn

3. Lahore Qalandars - Rashid Khan

4. Peshawar Zalmi - David Miller

5. Quetta Gladiators - Chris Gayle

6. Quetta Gladiators - Tom Banton

5:18pm — Chris Lynn snapped up by Multan Sultans as Lahore Qalandars choose not to retain him.

Lahore Qalandars pick Rashid Khan.

Peshawar Zalmi pick David Miller.

Quetta Gladiators pick Chris Gayle .

Quetta Gladiators pick England's Tom Banton.

5:02pm — Hassan Ali joins Islamabad United as the team make a wildcard pick. He thus moves from the Diamond to the Platinum category.

5:00pm — Platinum round  begins.

4:58pm — There will be 90 seconds on the clock for each pick.

4:55pm — PCB Chairman Ehsan Mani thanks foreign players for their participation and enthusiasm. He regrets not being able to hold PSL this year at other venues besides Lahore and Karachi and hopes the stands won't all be empty.