Monday March 04, 2024

59 candidates vying for one NA, four PA seats in Bajaur

There are 8 candidates for only one NA seat while a total of 51 candidates are in run for 4 provincial assembly seats

January 23, 2024
The provincial assembly of the KP building. — KP Assembly website
The provincial assembly of the KP building. — KP Assembly website

KHAR: A total of 59 candidates are vying for the one national and four provincial assembly seats in the Bajaur district in the forthcoming elections slated for February 8.

According to the data obtained from the District Election Commission Office here, there are eight candidates for only one National Assembly seat (NA-8) while a total of 51 candidates are in the run for four provincial assembly seats - PK-19 Bajaur-I, PK-20 Bajaur-II, PK-21 Bajaur-III and PK-22 Bajaur-IV.

Maulana Khanzeb of Awami National Party, Akhunzada Chattan of Pakistan People’s Party, Sahibzada Haroonur Rashid of Jamaat-e-Islami, Shahabuddin Khan of Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz while former lawmaker of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Gul Zafar Khan, former Khyber Pakhtunkhwa governor Shaukatullah Khan, Rehanzeb Khan and Rahimdad Khan are contesting elections for the lone National Assembly seat in independent capacity.

The total population of NA-8 is 1,28,7960 while total registered voters are 6,64711 in which 3,3207 are male voters while women voters are 3,01504, who will exercise their right of franchise at the total 366 polling stations across the district on the election day.

There are 344 joint polling stations while 12 are specifically for men and 10 polling stations are for women. Similarly, there are seven candidates to run for PK-19 Bajaur-I, 11 for PK-20 Bajaur-II, 18 for PK-21 Bajaur-III and 15 for PK-22 Bajaur-IV constituencies.

Malik Hikmatullah Mamond of ANP, Ikram Khan of PMLN, Malik Ayaz of JI, Said Rahim Shah Sabawoon of Mazloom Ulasi Tehreek while independent candidates Dr Hameedur Rahman, Malik Khalid Khan and Rahimdad Khan are contesting elections on PK-19 Bajaur-I.

On PK-20 Bajaur-II constituency, there are a total of 11 candidates in the election arena – Maulana Waheed Gul of JI, Shahabuddin Khan of PMLN, Maulana Abdur Rashid of JUIF, Akhunzada Chattan of PPP, Gul Afzal Khan of ANP, Burhanuddin of Muttahida Qaumi Movement, Shahid Azam of Tehreek-e-Darveshan Pakistan, Sher Ahmad of JUIS while former minister Anwarzeb Khan, Muambar Khan and Muhammad Saeed Khan are contesting elections in independent capacity.

Similarly, there are more independent candidates, including a woman, out of the total 18 to contest elections on PK-21 Bajaur-III. The candidates are: Rashid Khan of ANP, Shakil Khan of PPP, Haji Sardar Khan of JI, Muhammad Zahoor Khan of PMLN, Muhammad Tariq of JUIF, Muhammad Asghar Khan Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party, Zair Muhammad of MUT. While the lone woman candidate Sultanat Bibi, Malik Umar Wahid, Engr Ajmal Khan, Badshah Rawan, Jumma Said, Hazoor Khan, Samiullah, Shakirullah and Shah Salim are contesting polls as independents in this constituency.

Also, there are a total of 15 candidates to test their luck in the forthcoming elections in PK-20 Bajaur-IV constituency.

Abdullah advocate of PPP, Shah Naseer Khan of ANP, Siraj Khan of JI, Imran Mahir of JUIF, Lalishah Pakhtunyar of MUT, Nawabzada Jalauddin Khan of PTIP, while Aurangzeb Iqilabi, Ijaz Khan, Hayat Khan, Rehanzeb Khan, Guldad Khan, Gul Munir, Laiqzada, Muambar Khan and Noor Shah are contesting elections in independent capacity.

Electioneering is already in full-swing across the district, and with the final list now released, candidates have intensified their campaigns to secure the maximum number of votes in the polls.