Sunday January 16, 2022

Senate Election 2021 live updates: Latest results

Live results from Senate election in Pakistan: PTI wins 18 seats in Senate in total

By Web Desk
March 03, 2021

Former prime minister Yousaf Raza Gilani has emerged the victor from his Islamabad seat in the ongoing Senate Elections 2021, marking a major win for the Opposition parties' anti-government coalition, the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM).

Yousaf Raza Gilani beat Finance Minister Abdul Hafeez Shaikh — associated with the ruling PTI — in what was arguably the most-watched contest for the Senate elections.

Gilani bagged 169 votes, whereas Shaikh got 164. One vote was not cast.

A vote is cast during the Senate Election 2021 in a provincial assembly in Pakistan, March 3, 2021. APP/Shaheryar Anjum

Polling, which was scheduled from 9am to 5pm, ended at the set time, with counting of the votes underway. Lawmakers voted for some 37 vacant seats in the Senate, with 11 senators previously elected unopposed from Punjab.

Six of the total 340 ballots cast in the National Assembly were rejected, according to the returning officer.


The government and its allies have secured seven seats — four general and a women's, technocrat, and minority each.

Meanwhile, the Opposition has obtained five — two general, one women's, and one technocrat.

Of the total seven candidates that won general seats, four were backed by the government, two from the Opposition and one was an independent candidate, Abdul Qadir, who backed jointly by the BAP and PTI.

Arbab Muhammad Umar Farooq of the ANP and BAP's Ahmed Kakar, Sarfaraz Ahmed Bugti, and Prince Ahmed Umar Ahmed were supported by the PTI government and have each been elected to a general seat.

Meanwhile, JUI-F's Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri and BNP's Muhammad Qasim were the candidates that enjoyed support from the Opposition and have each won a general seat.

Of the two women's seats, BAP candidate Samina Mumtaz who was backed by the government won one, as did Nasima Ahsan, an independent candidate who joined ANP a day earlier and enjoys support from the Opposition.

Of the two technocrat seats, JUI-F's Kamran Murtaza — an Opposition-backed candidate emerged victorious for one — and BAP's Saeed Ahmed Hashmi, who enjoys the BAP-PTI coalition's support, secured the other.

The PTI government-backed BAP candidate Dhanesh Kumar won the minority seat.


The race between candidates was for a total of eleven seats, of which PPP bagged seven — five general, one women, and one technocrat — and the government won four — two general, one women, and one technocrat.

PPP's Saleem Mandviwalla, Sherry Rehman, Taj Haider, Shahadat Aiwan, and Jam Mehtab Dhar have been elected to general seats.

Among the government candidates PTI's Faisal Vawda won one seat while its allied party MQM's Faisal Sabzwari won the other.

PPP's Palwasha Khan won one seat with 60 votes. The party's other candidate Rukhshana Shah secured 46 votes.

MQM candidate Khalida Ateeb emerged the second victor, obtaining eight votes less from the Opposition side, but managing to secured 57 votes.

Of the two technocrat seats PPP's Farooq H Naek won one with five more votes that the opponents, whereas PTI's Saifullah Abro won the other with 57 votes.

PPP candidates got a total of 104 votes, with Naek getting 61 and Kareem Khwaja getting 43.

The PTI allied parties got eight votes fewer than the Sindh government candidates.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Unofficial results for the 12 seats are in. PTI's Shibli Faraz, Mohsin Aziz, Zeeshan Khanzada, Faisal Saleem, and Liaqat Khan Tarakai have won a general seat each.

ANP's Hidayatullah Khan also one won seat, besides JUI-F's Atta-ur-Rehman.

PTI swept the technocrat category too with candidates Dost Muhammad Mehsood and Muhammad Humayun Khan taking the two seats up for grabs.

PPP's Farhatullah Babar was dealt a defeat in this category.

Of the two women seats, PTI's Sania Nishtar won one, with 56 votes, while another candidate from the party, Falak Naz, obtained the other with 51 votes.

PTI minority candidate Gurdeep Singh won the minority seat.