Thursday June 20, 2024

Afghanistan beat Pakistan in second T20I to clinch series

Rashid Khan-led unit won the second T20I by seven wickets

March 26, 2023
Afghanistan beat Pakistan in second T20I to clinch series.—Twitter@ACBofficial
Afghanistan beat Pakistan in second T20I to clinch series.—Twitter@ACBofficial 

SHARJAH: Afghanistan defeated Pakistan by seven wickets during the second T20I in Sharjah on Sunday to claim a historic series win.

Chasing a target of 131 runs, Afghanistan reached home on the penultimate ball of the innings.

This is Afghanistan's first-ever series win against Pakistan.

Opener Rahmanullah Gurbaz top-scored with 44 runs in 49 balls for the winning side. Ibrahim Zadran also added 38 runs in 40 balls.

However, Najibullah Zadran and Mohammad Nabi provided impetus at the backend of the innings to get their side over the line. 

Zadran scored 23 runs in 12 balls, meanwhile, Nabi notched up 14 in 9 with both batters staying unbeaten.

For Pakistan, Ihsanullah and Zaman Khan claimed one wicket each.

Earlier, all-rounder, Imad Wasim hit a maiden half-century to help Pakistan score 130-6 in the second T20 international against Afghanistan.

The left-hander struck 64 not out off 57 balls with two sixes and three boundaries to rescue Pakistan who was struggling at 63-5 after winning the toss and batting at Sharjah Stadium.

Imad and skipper Shadab Khan added 67 for the sixth wicket.

Afghanistan won the first match by six wickets — also in Sharjah on Friday — to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

Pakistan got off to a disastrous start with left-arm pacer Fazalhaq Farooqi claiming Saim Ayub and Abdullah Shafique, both for nought, in the first over of the innings.

Farooqi finished with 2-19 in his four overs.

Playing XI

Pakistan: Saim Ayub, Mohammad Haris, Abdullah Shafique, Tayyab Tahir, Shadab Khan (c), Azam Khan (wk), Mohammad Nawaz, Imad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Zaman Khan, Ihsanullah

Afghanistan: Usman Ghani, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan (c), Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-ul-Haq