Wednesday February 28, 2024

Pak vs Aus: Pat Cummins to lead 14-man squad for first Test

First test is scheduled to take place from December 14 to 16 at Perth Stadium

By Web Desk
December 03, 2023
Australia Test cricket team. — ICC/File
Australia Test cricket team. — ICC/File 

Australia announced a 14-man squad for the first Test against Pakistan in what is being seen as the farewell three-match home series for opener David Warner.

The squad, which is being led by World Cup-winning skipper Pat Cummins, will play the first Test on December 14 to 18 at the Perth Stadium.

Warner, who said that he would bring down a curtain on his 12-year career in the longest format, is also included in the squad for the first Test alongside Usman Khawaja.

Other players included in the team are Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Greene, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon and Mitchell Marsh.

Lance Morris, Steve Smith and Mitchell Starc were also included in the 14-member squad for the first Test.

Pakistan, who have not won a match in Australia in nearly three decades, are currently preparing for the series.

Australia squad: David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (captain), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Scott Boland, Cameron Green, Lance Morris

Pakistan squad: Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Australia tour schedule:

Four-day match: PM’s XI vs Pakistan – December 6-9: Manuka Oval, Canberra

1st Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 14-18: Perth Stadium

2nd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 26-30: Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)

3rd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – January 3-7: Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG)