Tuesday June 25, 2024

PSL 2023: Multan Sultans defeat Peshawar Zalmi to seal spot in playoffs

Multan Sultans trump Peshawar Zalmi by four wickets

By Sports Desk
March 10, 2023
Multan Sultans batter hits a shot during the 27th match of the eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) on March 10, 2023. — Twitter/@thePSLt20
Multan Sultans' batter hits a shot during the 27th match of the eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) on March 10, 2023. — Twitter/@thePSLt20

Multan Sultans Friday defeated Peshawar Zalmi by four wickets at the Pindi Cricket Stadium to seal their spot in the playoffs of Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2023.

During the thrilling match today, Multan Sultans Rilee Rossouw was unstoppable with the bat as he helped his side set a new record run-chase in the PSL, chasing down 243 runs set by Zalmi just days after Quetta Gladiators chased down record 241 runs against the same team.

Rossouw was phenomenal as he also broke his own record of the fastest century in PSL. The left-handed batter scored a hundred off just 41 balls. His previous record was a 43-ball century against Quetta Gladiators in 2020.

The left-handed batter scored 121 runs laced with 12 boundaries and eight sixes to help the Sultans chase down a mammoth total with five balls to spare.

In the absence of regular skipper Babar Azam, who missed fielding due to fever, Zalmi took two early wickets. But, Rossouw alongside Kieron Pollard scored 99 runs off just 43 balls together to turn the game around for their team.

Pollard scored a magnificent fifty to help the Sultans chase the big target, smashing 52 runs off 25 balls including five maximums and three boundaries.

It was Anwar Ali, in the end, who finished the game for the Sultans. After bowling the joint second-most expensive spell in PSL today, Anwar contributed to his team with the bat. He remained not out for a match-winning 24 runs off just eight balls.

Azmatullah Omarzai bagged two wickets while Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Arshad Iqbal, Wahab Riaz, and Saim Ayub shared a wicket apiece for Zalmi.

Earlier, Zalmi’s openers Babar and Saim set the perfect tone for their team to set another big total.

Babar and Saim scored 134 runs together to help Zalmi post 242-6 in 20 overs which is also now the second-highest total in this year's PSL.

The skipper scored a fifty with an improved strike rate whereas Saim once again dominated from the front. Babar scored 73 runs including nine boundaries and two maximums whereas Saim made 58 off 33.

Mohammad Haris, Zalmi’s wicket-keeper batter, scored a quick 35 off 11 balls to contribute crucial runs to the team's big total. In the end, Tom Kohler-Cadmore played a firepower knock of 38 off 18 balls.

Abbas Afridi remained the pick of the bowlers for the Sultans as he bagged four wickets.

Playing XIs

Peshawar Zalmi: Mohammad Haris (wk), Babar Azam (c), Saim Ayub, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Haseebullah Khan, Rovman Powell, Aamer Jamal, Wahab Riaz, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Arshad Iqbal

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (c), Shan Masood, Rilee Rossouw, Khushdil Shah, Tim David, Kieron Pollard, Anwar Ali, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Sheldon Cottrell, Ihsanullah