Thursday January 27, 2022

National Women’s Football C’ship final round from January 1

December 29, 2019

KARACHI: Eight teams will be seen in action in the final round of the 12th National Women’s Football Championship, which begins January 1 at two venues in Karachi.

KPT and Karachi United Stadiums will host the matches of the championship, which will culminate with the final on January 12 at KU Stadium. Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) is hosting the championship for women with an aim to promote the game of football among women.

The qualifying round of the championship started in the last week of November and was held in Lahore, Karachi, and Islamabad. A total of 20 teams participated in the qualifying round.

The eight teams in the final round are Army WFC (defending champions), WAPDA WFC, Karachi United WFC, JAFA WFC, Diya WFC, Gilgit Baltistan WFC, Punjab WFC and Karachi Kickers WFC.

The teams are divided into two groups. After round-robin matches, the top two teams from each group will play the semi-finals.