Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

JUI-F ‘forward bloc’ expected in Lakki district government


June 10, 2015

LAKKI MARWAT: The members of the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) have yet to reach consensus to form the district government amid reports that some of them may form a forward bloc, sources said.
The sources said that JUI-F has a number of factions loyal to late MNA Kabir Khan’s group, the Sher Afzal faction, Aslam Khan Issakkhel group and Naseer Muhammad Khan Maidadkhel group.
Though efforts are underway to make these factions agree to support the party’s nominee for district and tehsil nazims, differences remain and reaching agreement on the issue would require the intervention of the JUI-F chief Maulana Fazlur Rahman. There were reports that the Maulana had told his party’s newly elected councillors from Lakki Marwat district to resolve the issue on their own. The members of the PPP and PTIand some independents have also started lobbying to form a coalition government in the district.
“The JUI-F members have not reached any consensus about the formation of the district government. This is the reason some of the members want to form ‘forward bloc’ to join the emerging coalition district government, a party activist told The News.
The JUI-F leaders had given a call for empowering the party’s Shura to resolve the crisis but it has yet to hold its meeting.It was reported that JUI-F leaders nominated Samiullah Mujahid, who was elected from the Bakhmal Ahmedzai Union Council, for the office of the chairmanship of the district council and Hidayatullah Khan for the Tehsil Council chairmanship. But some of the groups in JUI-F are not happy with this decision as they want their nominees to be nominated for these positions.
Federal minister and leader of PPP, Anwar Saifullah Khan has been trying to convince some of the JUI-F factions led by Naseer Muhammad Khan Maidadkhel and Sher Afzal Khan to join the coalition government in the district. There are 33 union councils in Lakki Marwat. The JUI-F has 17 members of the district council, PPP has

six and PTI has five. There are four independent members. The coalition district government could be formed by the PPP, PTI and independents.

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus