Sunday July 03, 2022

Eight generals retiring next year

December 01, 2016

ISLAMABAD: Eight, including two superseded lieutenant generals, shall retire next year, it is learnt.  According to sources, these retirements and consequent promotions would cause transfers and posting in the army. The promotion board headed by COAS Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa will promote two major generals to fill vacancies created by the promotion of Gen Bajwa and Gen Zubair Mahmood Hayat to the four-star rank.

The two promotions have left four lieutenant generals superseded. They are: Heavy Industries Chairman Lt Gen Syed Wajid Hussain, Joint Staff HQ DG Lt Gen Najibullah Khan, Multan Corps Commander Lt Gen Ishfaq Nadeem Ahmad and Bahawalpur Corps Commander Lt Gen Javed Iqbal Ramday, HI(M).

The other generals retiring next years are: Engineer-in-Chief Lt Gen Khalid Asghar (due to retire on 20 September), Strategic Plans Division DG Lt Gen Mazhar Jamil ((due to retire on 20 September), Army Air Defence Command chief Lt Gen Muhammad Zahid Latif Mirza, (due to retire on December 20) and Gujranwala Corps Commander Lt Gen Ikram Ul Haq (due to retire on December 20). Therefore, eight major generals would be promoted next year.