Monday March 04, 2024

ECP members visit polling stations in NA-33 Nowshera

By Our Correspondent
February 09, 2024

NOWSHERA: The members of Election Commission of Pakistan on Thursday visited various polling stations in NA-33 and reviewed security arrangements and election process in the constituency.

The board outside the premises of the Election Commission of Pakistan. — ECP website/File
The board outside the premises of the Election Commission of Pakistan. — ECP website/File

The ECP members, including Hassan Babar, Ikramullah, Shah Muhammad Jatoi and Nisar Durrani visited polling stations in NA-33 and talked to polling agents and election staff.

They expressed satisfaction over the peaceful environment being provided to the voters, polling staff and smooth election process in the constituency besides over 50 percent turnout.

Talking to reporters, Hassan Babar said that they reviewed security arrangements and the polling process, which were found satisfactory while the voters were also casting their votes in a hassle-free environment.

Polling for the national and provincial assemblies’ seats in various constituencies was also held in a peaceful manner and no untoward incident happened as the district administration had made foolproof security arrangements for the elections.

However, the suspension of mobile phone networks caused great hardships to the voters, polling agents, candidates and general public due to which making contact with near and dear ones in any emergency situation could not be made despite hectic efforts.

Almost all the political parties and independent candidates are contesting for the two national and five provincial assemblies’ seats in the district.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf-Parliamentarians chairman and former defence minister Pervez Khattak and his nephew and son-in-law Dr Imran Khattak Ibrahim Khattak and Ismail Khattak, Khan Pervez and Mian Iftikhar of Awami National Party, Ikhtiar Wali Khan of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz while the independent candidates of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, including Barrister Sarwar and Mustafa Anwar of PTI, Fayyazur Rahman of PMLN, Mufti Shaukatullah and Ijazul Haq of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl and others were contesting polls on various constituencies.

Besides Dr Imran Khattak, Major-Gen (r) Saad Khattak of Aam Admi Party, Mian Babar Shah of ANP, Mian Khaliqur Rahman, Haji Akbar, Daud Khattak of PTI, Shaiq Amin of Tehreek-e-Labbaik, Hamza Pervez of PMLN, Alhaj Pervez Khan of JUIF, Idrees Khattak of PPP and others were also in the run for NA and provincial seats.