Sunday January 29, 2023

Web Desk
December 1, 2016

Jhangvi wins Punjab by-election

JHANG: Maulana Masroor Nawaz Jhangvi, a son of slain Sipah-e-Sahaba founder Haq Nawaz Jhangvi, has won by-election for the Punjab Assembly constituency PP-78, defeating over two dozen candidates including those fielded by the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N)and the Pakistan People's Party (PPP), according to unofficial and unconfirmed results.

Over 25 candidates including Maulana Masroor Nawaz (Independent), Haji Azad Naser Ansari (PML-N), Shaikh Arfa Majeed (PTI) and Nasim Qadri (PAT) were contesting the elections.

The number of registered voters in the constituency was 216, 562 among them 118,687 male and 97,935 female while 171 polling stations were set up  in the constituency.

A fierce electoral contest was expected between PML-N's Haji Azad Naser Ansari and Independent candidate Moulana Masroor Nawaz who was being supported by the banned Ahl-e-Sunnat Wal Jamaat (ASWJ).

The election was held amid tight security arrangements. A public holiday was declared in throughout the district on the directions of Election Commission of Pakistan and Punjab Government.

Reacting to outcome of the by-election, Pakistan People's Party chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari said on twitter: "Rest in pieces National action plan" with hashtag #GoNisarGo


Speaking to Geo News, senior Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz leader Sheikh Waqas Akram blamed his party’s defeat in the election on the PPP which he said should have supported the party’s candidate against Jhangvi like it did in Karachi where it had backed MQM against Aurangzeb Farooqui.