Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
February 20, 2008

PPPP wins two NA, four PA seats in Khairpur, but not satisfied

Top Story

February 20, 2008

KHAIRPUR: The PPPP won two National Assembly and four provincial assembly seats in Khairpur.

According to unofficial results announced here, PPPP candidate Nawab Khan Wasan clinched NA-215 Khairpur seat by securing 98,777 votes while close rival PML-Fís Syed Javed Ali Shah Jillani got 34,014 votes. MMAís Abdullah Shaikh bagged 4,045 votes. Voter turnout was 39 per cent.

Pir Syed Fazal Shah Jillani of PPPP secured 77,064 votes to clinch NA-217 while PML-Fís Syed Kazim Ali Shah obtained 51,138 votes and MMA candidate Maulana Ramzan Phulpoto got 2,696 votes. The turnout was 40 per cent.

Pir Syed Sadruddin Shah Rashdi of PML-F got 97,347 votes at NA-216, while PPPP candidate Sajid Bhabhan secured 79,763 votes. Turnout was 58 per cent.

PPPP Sindh chief Syed Qaim Ali Shah secured 46,631 votes at PS-29 Khairpur with his opponent PML-F candidate Zafar Iqbal Bilal getting 10,090 votes. MMA candidate Salahuddin Phulpoto obtained 3,832 votes and PML-N candidate Syed Ali Hyder Shah got 2,529 votes. Voter turnout was 36 per cent.

Manzoor Wasan of PPPP emerged victorious from PS-32 by securing 47,987 votes while PML-Fís Syed Sadruddin Shah Rashdi bagged 20,098 votes. Turnout was 42 percent.

Pir Syed Sadruddin Shah, chief of PML-F Sindh, won from PS-30 by securing 35,413 votes while PPPPís Pir Syed Bachal Shah Jillani got 26,972 votes. MMA candidate Maulvi Abdullah Abbasi obtained 1,497 votes. Turnout was 43 per cent.

PPPP candidate Naeem Ahmed Kharel secured 45,244 votes at PS-34, while PML-F candidate Imtiaz Shaikh received 20,172 votes and Maulana Mir Muhammad Merik of MMA obtained 1,357 votes. Turnout remained at 27 per cent.

PML-F candidate Dr Rafique Bhabhan obtained 65,564 votes at PS-31, defeating PPPP candidate Zahid Hussain who secured 34,653 votes. Turnout was 37 per cent.

Meanwhile, the election results of Khairpur never favoured the PPPP because PML-F candidates retained their past seats.

Despite the sympathy factor for the PPPP and optimism of PPPP candidates of winning all the seats, they still lost one national and two provincial assembly seats.

The PPPP candidates have not accepted the results and levelled allegations of rigging but the PML-F candidates have accepted the results.

The results failed to impress the people of Khairpur who said the assassination of Benazir Bhutto played a vital role behind the success of the PPPP candidates.

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus