Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
February 11, 2013

PML-N MPs most active in NA in five years: Fafen

February 11, 2013

ISLAMABAD: The legislators of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) — the main opposition party — actively took part in the parliamentary proceedings during five years in the 13th National Assembly.
They sponsored majority of agenda items, including oversight of the executive through the Question Hour and Calling Attention Notices, and representation by raising issues of public interest through Matters of Public Importance, Motions under Rule 259, and Resolutions, says a study by the Free and Fair Election Network (Fafen).
However, Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians (PPPP) and Pakistan Muslim League (PML) legislators took lead in legislation, introducing most number of Private Members’ bills. Moreover, women parliamentarians on reserved seats tabled most of the questions, Calling Attentions Notices, Private Members’ Bills, resolutions, motions under Rule 259 and matters of public importance.
A PML-N legislator Shireen Arshad Khan topped the list by authoring 35 resolutions - 27 individually and eight jointly. Similarly, PML-N’s Nisar Tanveer asked the most number of questions during the Question Hour 535 -322 starred and 213 unstarred during 48 sessions of the 13th National Assembly. She was followed by Shireen Arshad Khan who sponsored 527 questions.
Again Nisar raised a total of 30 issues of public importance while her party colleague Khalida Mansoor topped the list of motion movers under Rule 259 by submitting 31 motions. The Leader of the Opposition, Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, raised the most points of order 287, followed by Federal Minister for Religious Affairs Syed Khurshid Shah.
PPPP’s Yasmeen Rehman authored the most number of Private Members’ Bills either in collaboration with her colleagues or in her individual capacity. She was followed by Donya Aziz (PML), Marvi Memon (ex-Member PML), Shakeela Khanam Rashid (PPPP) and Naseer Bhutta (PMLN).
Fafen analysis is based on direct observation of the National Assembly’s

regular sessions held in the five parliamentary years from March 2008 to January 2013. It assesses the performance of the legislature using transparency, participation, responsiveness, output and order and institutionalization as criterion.
Five years at a glance: The 13th National Assembly, which took oath on March 17, 2008, worked to achieve political maturity leading to landmark constitutional changes giving Pakistan a new political direction amid difficult and trying circumstances.

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus