• 23 brigadiers promoted to major general

      November 16, 2010
      Print : Top Story

      ISLAMABAD: Twenty-three brigadiers were promoted to major generals on Monday. Those promoted include Brig Asim Bajwa, the man behind Pervez Musharraf’s book “In the Line of Fire.” He is currently serving as the chief of staff to commander Mangla Corps. He served as military secretary to the then President General Pervez Musharraf before heading the 111-Brigade.

      Chief of Army Staff General Ashfaq Parvez Kaynai chaired the meeting of Pakistan Army Selection Board-I, which approved the promotion of 23 brigadiers. “Most of all, I would remiss if I did not express special gratitude to my staff officer, Brig Asim Bajwa, for his painstaking and laborious efforts of both recording my thoughts and then transcribing them. Without his efficiency and devotion to me, the arduous task of completing the book would have been difficult to achieve,” wrote Pervez Musharraf towards the concluding paragraphs of the Preface of his autobiography, In the Line of Fire, on August 1, 2006.

      Musharraf’s former assistant military secretary, Lt Col Ajab Khan, now serving as brigadier in the IG and TE branch of the General Headquarters (GHQ), has failed to get promotion in this round.

      Those promoted also include Shahid Baig Mirza, Military Secretary to the Army chief, and two other chiefs of staff to corps commanders, Brig Tariq Ghafoor, COS to Corps Commander, Lahore, and Brig Hadiatur Rehman, COS to Corps Commander, Gujranwala.

      Brig Iftikhar Wyne, Director Military Intelligence and head of ISI Karachi Brig Arif Warriach also got promotion to the next rank. Another Bajwa, Amir Azim Bajwa, Instructor National Defence University, has also been promoted along with Brig Naveed Mukhtar, Director Military Operations.

      The full list of 23 promoted brigadiers is: Iftikhar Wyne, Naveed Mukhtar, Sadiq Ali, Ijaz Shahid, Maqsood Abbasi, Farhan, Javed Bokhari, Amir Azim Bajwa, M Iqbal Assi, Tariq Ghafoor, Abid Nazir, Hadiat ur Rehman, Arif Warriach, Zafar Iqbal, Anwar Ali Haider, Sajjad Rasool, Shahid Baig Mirza, Asim Bajwa, M Tauqir Ahmed, Waqar Ahmed, Akhtar Waheed, Salman Ali and Muhammad Ahmed. The promoted officers will get new assignments and their posting would take place after the Eidul Azha.

      23 brigadiers promoted to major general was posted in Top Story of TheNews International - https://www.thenews.com.pk on November 16, 2010 and was last updated on November 16, 2010. This news story is related to Archive - breaking news, latest news, pakistan ne. Permanent link to the news story "23 brigadiers promoted to major general" is https://www.thenews.com.pk/archive/print/610017-23-brigadiers-promoted-to-major-general.