Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
May 16, 2013

MQM in unique record of five-figure score in 12 NA constituencies


May 16, 2013

ISLAMABAD: Of all the 18 parties which made their way to the National Assembly in the May 11 general elections, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) holds a unique record of its, as many as, 12 out of 18 MNAs-elect pocketing from 101,311 to 192,678 votes.
From NA-243, MQM’s Abdul Waseem got the highest number of votes (192,678), while his rival Muhammad Yousaf of the Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) received 8,592 votes. Another Muttahida candidate from NA-242 Mehboob Alam got 166,746 votes and his opponent Akram Khan of the PTI received 10,800 votes.
The MQM’s Iqbal Muhammad Ali Khan from NA-256 received 147,916 votes and his rival from the PTI Zubair Khan pocketed 67,797 votes. Former PPP minister Nabeel Gabol, who joined the MQM a few weeks back, also got 139,386 votes from NA-246 and his opponent Amir Sharjil of the PTI secured 32,048 votes.
The MQM’s Dr Khalid Maqbool got 141,030 votes and his opponent PPP’s Ali Muhammad received 14,697 votes. Syed Waseem Hussain of the MQM from NA-220 got 135,886 votes and JUP-Noorani’s Abul Khair Muhammad Zubair received 10,990 votes. These two constituencies belong to Hyderabad, while the rest are Karachi’s seats.
From NA-255, Syed Asif Hasnain of the MQM got 136,979 votes, while Khalid Mehmood Ali got 19,032 votes. Shaikh Salahuddin of the MQM received 133,525 votes, while his rival PTI’s Muhammad Riaz Haider got 54,751 votes.
Sufyan Yousaf of the MQM from NA-247 got 125,443 votes, while his opponent from the PTI Rashid Siddiqui received 35,240 votes. Former MQM minister Dr Farooq Sattar is also among those who secured over 100,000 votes; to be precise 109,952 votes and his opponent from the PPPP Abdul Aziz got 64,987 votes.
The MQM’s Sajid Ahmad from NA-257 secured 125,222 votes and his rival Farooq Khan, an independent, got 23,736 votes. And lastly, Muhammad Muzammil of the Muttahida pocketed 101,311 votes and his rival of the PTI secured 58,989 votes.

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus