Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
April 15, 2013



April 15, 2013

Parties, not groups key to candidates’ success in Khushab
From Hafiz Khan Muhammad Mahl
JAUHARABAD: All the candidates have vigorously launched their campaign after the acceptance of their nomination papers across the district.
As many as 91 candidates filed their papers for two National Assembly and four Punjab Assembly seats in the district, while the papers of only five candidates were rejected. Out of total 86 candidates, only 36 are contesting the polls while remaining are just covering candidates.
In NA-69, former federal minister Sumaira Malik is contesting on the PML-N ticket, while PTI’s Umar Aslam Awan, PPP’s Saifullah, JUI’s Maulana Sanaullah, Awami Workers Party’s Nazir Khan and APML’s Zafar Iqbal are other candidates. Pundits believe that parties’ will lead the candidates to success instead of the politics of groups like the past. They are of the view that the real contest will be between the candidates of the PML-N and the PTI in the district. In the last two elections, PTI’s Umar Aslam Awan was defeated by Sumaira Malik of the PML-N. There are total 336,551 voters, including 182,538 men and 154,013 women, in the constituency. The ECP has established 295 polling stations and 647 booths in the constituency.
In NA-70, the PML-N has awarded the ticket to Malik Shakir Bashir Awan. The PPP has fielded Dr Rashid Malik, while Awami Group’s Sardar Shuja Khan Baloch, PTI’s Engineer Gul Asghar Bughoor, JUI’s Maulana Abdullah Ahmed and JI’s Malik Waris Jasra are other candidates. There are total 343,920 voters, including 187,927 men and 155,993 women. The ECP has established 269 polling stations and 622 booths in the constituency.
In PP-39 (Khushab-I), Javed Iqbal Awan is representing the PML-N, while PTI’s Malik Ameer Mukhtar Sangha, PPP’s Dr Naeem Sadiq and former MPA Malik Mukhtar Ahmad Awan are also in the race. There are total 177,321 voters, including 95,847 men and 81,474 women, in the constituency. As

many as 153 polling stations and 343 booths have been established in the constituency. In PP-40 (Khushab-II), there are total 159,230 voters, including 86,691 men and 72,542 women. The ECP has established 142 polling stations and 304 booths in the consistency. The PPP has fielded Ghiasuddin, while Malik Karm Elahi Bandial of the PML-N, Al-Haj Salah-e-Gunjial of the Awami Group, Muhammad Zahoor Malik of the JI, Muhammad Naveed Akhtar of the MQM and Malik Muhammad Din Ayub Tiwana are other candidates. However, there will be a tough fight among the candidates of the PML-N, the PPP and the Awami Group.
In PP-41 (Khushab-III), the real contest will be between Malik Asif Bhha of the PML-N and Haji Sharif Khan Baloch of the Awami Group. Dr Khalid Bashir Awan of the PTI, Maulana Abdullah Ahmad of the JUI and Tanzeerul Hassan Awan of the JI, Muhammad Rashid Malik of the PPP, Umar Ali Khan and Mehr Anwar Arain (independent) are other candidates. The constituency consists of Khushab, Jauharabad, Hadali and adjoining areas. There are total 183,289 voters. Of them, there are 99,274 men and 84,015 women. The authorities have established 135 polling stations and 323 booths in the constituency.
In PP-42 (Khushab-IV), there are 160,631 voters, including 88,653 men and 71,971 women. The ECP has set up 134 polling stations and 299 booths in the constituency. The PML-N has awarded the ticket to Malik Muhammad Waris Kaloo, while Anwar Khan Baloch is the PPP candidate. Malik Khuda Bukhsh Tiwana of the Awami Group, Gul Asghar Khan Bughor of the PTI, Maulana Abdul Razzaq of the JUI and Malik Waris Jasra of the JI are also in the race.

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus