Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
April 11, 2013

Fehmida challenges nominations of two PML-F candidates


April 11, 2013

PPP leader and National Assembly Speaker Fehmida Mirza on Wednesday challenged the nomination papers of rival Pakistan Muslim League-Functional candidates Bibi Yasmeen Shah and her spouse Syed Ali Bux Shah from Badin’s National Assembly constituency NA-225 and provincial assembly constituency PS-57.
Filing her objections with the election tribunal, she alleged that both the PML-F candidates had fake graduation degrees, and prayed to court to set aside the orders of the returning officers, who accepted their nominations.
As many as 234 petitions have been filed with the election tribunal at the principle seat of the Sindh High Court till Wednesday, the last date for the submission of petitions. The tribunal will decide these petitions before April 17.
PML-F leader Imtiaz Sheikh also challenged the nomination of Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians (PPPP) candidate Agha Taimor Khan from Shikarpur’s provincial assembly constituency PS-11, alleging that the respondent had a fake graduation degree and concealed facts about his assets and properties.

Pleas rejected
The election tribunal, headed by Justice Faisal Arab, dismissed petitions against the acceptance of the nomination papers of PPPP leader Makhdoom Amin Fahim and his son Makhdoom Jalil uz Zaman from NA-218.
Abdul Razak Memon criticised the returning officer for accepting the nominations of Fahim and his son from the National Assembly constituency NA-218 Mitiari.
He submitted that respondents had been booked in a high- profile NICL corruption scam. He alleged that Fahim concealed details of foreign properties, bank accounts and the payment of utility bills for 10 properties situated in Karachi, Dubai and Hyderabad.
The tribunal rejected Malik Waheed’s petition against the acceptance of the nomination papers of PPPP candidate Malik Asad Sikandar from NA-231 Jamshoro. It also rejected a petition of Aijaz Hussain Chandio against the acceptance of the

nomination papers of former chief minister Liaquat Jatoi from NA-233 Dadu.
The tribunal allowed appeals of Awami National Party candidate Syed Karam Darwesh for contesting NA-241 Karachi, PPP candidate Nasaraullah for PS-125 Karachi, People Muslim League candidate Shahzad Arain for NA-234 Sanghar, and Pakistan Muslim League-N candidate Mohammad Ilyas Chishti for PS-127 Karachi. PML-F candidate Rameezul Haq Zaur’s petition challenging the rejection of his papers for PS-86 Thatta was however dismissed.
The tribunal also issued a notice to the ECP on a petition of Bindiya Rana, a transvestite, against the rejection of her nomination papers from PS-114 Karachi.

PTI candidates
The election tribunal issued notices to the election commission and returning officers on petitions filed by Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf candidates against the rejection of their nomination papers from different constituencies of the province.
Saeed Ahmed, Bismillah Khan, Lal Mohammad Brohi, Raja Azhar, Ghazan Khan Shamzai challenged the rejection of their papers from NA-241, PS-89, PS-71, PS-124 and PS-93, respectively.

PPPP candidates
The election tribunal also issued notices to the election commission, ROs and others on petitions filed by PPPP candidates against the rejection of their nomination papers from different constituencies in Sindh.
Syed Murad Ali Shah, Mohammad Yousuf, Salman Abdullah, Aijaz Ali, Imdad Ali, Zulfiqar Ali Qaimkhani, Mohammad Ilyas Gabol, Mohammad Jamil Zia, Riaz Ahmed Lund Baloch, Mir Khan Khoso assailed the ROs for rejecting their nominations from PS-73 Dadu, PS-81 Sanghar, NA-258 and PS-130 Karachi, PS-52 Hyderabad, NA-251 Karachi, PS-126 Karachi,PS-95,NA-257 Karachi and PS-81 Sanghar, respectively.
The election commission was also issued with notices on petitions of PML-F candidate Mir Mushtaq Ali Talpur against the rejection of their papers from PS-51 Tando Allahyar, PPP-SB candidate Raza Lashari from PS-54 Tando Mohammad Khan, Ramzan Palari from NA-231 and PS-72 Jamshoro, PML-N candidate Mohammad Yousuf from PS-105 Karachi, independent candidate Popat Khan from PS-69, Hazara Qaumi Mahaz candidates Alam Zaib Khan and Banaras Khan from PS-128 and PS-129, independent Tariq Iqbal from PS-95, independent candidate Lajpat Rai from PS-61 Mithi, independent candidate Shabbir Ahmed from PS-91.

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus