Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
January 12, 2012

8,041 NRO beneficiaries to breathe freely till January 16

Instep Today

January 12, 2012

While the decision of the Supreme Court in the National Reconciliation Ordinance (NRO) implementation case on Tuesday may have ignited fiery debates across the country, with critics of this verdict visibly outnumbering the supporters of the Judicial Restraint doctrine exercised by the arbiters, the judgment has undoubtedly helped the beneficiaries of this controversial ordinance to heave a sigh of relief till January 16 at least.
Issued by the former Pakistani President General Pervez Musharraf some 1,555 days ago on October 5, 2007, the NRO had granted amnesty to politicians, political workers and bureaucrats accused of corruption, money laundering, murder and terrorism etc between January 1, 1986, and October 12, 1999.
A tentative glance through the NRO chronology shows that it was first declared unconstitutional by a 17-member bench of the Supreme Court of Pakistan on December 16, 2009 or 755 days ago, although the incumbent Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry had earlier displayed the guts to suspend this Presidential order on October 12, 2007, just a week or so after it was promulgated.
But the Chief Justice was soon dismissed after President Musharraf had resorted to abrogate the Constitution by proclaiming Emergency in the country on November 3, 2007. The new Chief Justice, Abdul Hameed Dogar had consequently revived this amnesty order issued by the Presidency on February 27, 2008.
In November 2009, the list of the NRO beneficiaries was first released officially on the orders of the sitting Premier Yusuf Raza Gilani. This particular list had carried names of 8,401 beneficiaries, most of whom were bureaucrats.
However, at least 34 politicians and three ambassadors were also among the “lucky ones” to get an official pardon for their sins and wrongdoings.
Just to recap events from recent history, the National Accountability Bureau (NAB) had then asked the Interior Ministry to bar 248 people (including Interior Minister Rehman

Malik) from leaving the country.
The days that followed also saw the Pakistani Defence Minister Chaudhry Ahmad Mukhtar being stopped at the Islamabad Airport from departing the country on a trip to China. A November 20, 2009 story carried by The News International had stated: “The National Accountability Bureau has presented to the government a list of 248 politicians and bureaucrats, who were alleged to have plundered hundreds of billions of rupees but were cleared by the NAB under the NRO.”
Ansar Abbasi had gone on to write in his afore-cited story: “Sources in the Law Ministry while sharing with The News the “complete list” of NAB’s NRO beneficiaries, explained that thousands of other cases of NRO beneficiaries did not belong to the NAB but with the provincial governments because they were criminal cases and did not fall within NAB purview. On top of the list is the name of President Asif Ali Zardari while his several close associates, both political and bureaucratic, including Rehman Malik, Salman Farooqi and his brother Usman Farooqi, Hussain Haqqani and Siraj Shamsuddin are also reflected.”
Having mentioned President Asif Zardari being the biggest NRO beneficiary, “The News International” had also printed many other names who had received this massive favour from General Musharraf.
These names included the likes of Yousaf Talpur, late Ms Nusrat Bhutto, Jehangir Badr, Ahmad Mukhtar, Malik Mushtaq Awan, PML-N MNA Rana Nazir Ahmed, ex-MPA Mian M Rashid, ex-MPA Tariq Anees, ex-MPA Mian Tariq Mehmood Dina, Agha Sirajuddin, Aftab Ahmed Sherpao, ex-provincial minister Ghani-ur-Rehman, ex-senator Haji Gulsher, ex-provincial minister Habibullah Khan Kundi, ex-MNA Mir Baz Khan Khethran, Anwar Saifullah Khan, ex-provincial minister Sardar Mansoor Leghari, ex-Mayor Sargodha Ch Abdul Hameed, ex-chairman Zila Council Lahore Ch Shoukat Ali, ex-MNA Haji Kabir, ex-chairman Zila Council Lahore Chaudhry Zulfikar Ali, Rehman Malik, ex-secretary information and presently Pakistan’s former ambassador to the US, Husain Haqqani, ex-federal secretary and presently principal secretary to the President Suleman Farooqi, former principal secretary to the PM Gilani Siraj Shamsuddin, ex-NBP president M B Abbasi, ex-secretary Sindh Rasool Baksh Rahoo, ex-DG textile quota Nayyar Bari, ex- secretary commerce Brig (R) Aslam Hayat Qureshi, ex-advisor to Prime Minister A R Siddiqi, ex-principal secretary to the PM Saeed Mehdi, ex-principal secretary to the PM Ahmed Sadiq, ex-chief secretary Punjab Javed Qureshi, ex-DG Intelligence Bureau Brig Imtiaz, ex-MD Printing Corporation of Pakistan Pir Mukarram Shah,; ex-secretary Petroleum Capt (R) Naseer Ahmad, ex-FIA Assistant Director Sajjad Haider, ex-Deputy Director FIA Ch Muhammad Sharif, ex-Additional Commissioner Income Tax Javed Iqbal Mirza, ex-Managing Director Karachi Water and Sewerage Board Aftab Ahmed, ex-Regional Commissioner of Income Tax Sindh Abrar Ahmed, ex-Secretary Javed Burki, former DG Port Qasim Authority Irshad Ahmed Sheikh, ex-DG Peshawar Development Authority Syed Zahir Shah and ex-SP Railways Inamur Rehman Sehri etc.

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus