Afghanistan reach their first-ever semi-final after 8-run victory over Bangladesh

Bangladesh were bowled out at 105 runs while chasing reduced 114-run target in rain-hit match

By Web Desk
June 25, 2024
Afghanistan´s captain Rashid Khan celebrates the dismissal of Bangladesh´s Soumya Sarkar during the T20 World Cup 2024 Super Eight cricket match between Afghanistan and Bangladesh at Arnos Vale Stadium in Arnos Vale, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines on June 24, 2024. — AFP

Afghanistan on Monday created history by reaching their first-ever semi final of a World Cup after securing an eight-run victory over Bangladesh in the ongoing T20 World Cup 2024.

Chasing Afghanistan's 116-run target, which was later reduced to 114 in 19 overs due to rain, Bangladesh were bowled out at 105 runs in the 18th over in the match being played at the Arnos Vale Stadium in West Indies.


Afghan bowlers came through for their side which has now joined India as the semi-finalists from Group 1 and sending Australia home.

Skipper Rashid Khan took 4-23 and Naveen-ul-Haq 4-26 in a defiant bowling effort ensuring that their side proceeds to the next stage of the tournament.

Afghanistan will now face South Africa at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad on June 27 (Thursday) in the first semi-final. Whereas India will go up against England on the same day at the Guyana National Stadium in the second semi-final.

Earlier in the day, Afghanistan were restricted to 115 runs after winning the toss and electing to bat first.

For Bangladesh, Rishad Hossain was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 3-26 in four overs. He took crucial wickets of Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran and Gulbadin Naib.

Gurbaz was the top scorer for Afghanistan with 43 runs in 55 balls with the help of three fours and a six.

Playing XIs

Bangladesh: Litton Das (wk), Tanzid Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Mustafizur Rahman

Afghanistan: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan (c), Nangeyalia Kharote, Noor Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi